We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best meal and experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Quay Restaurant

Quay Restaurant
Ranked #64 of 5,835 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: International, Australian, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: The Rocks
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
204 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“One of the best meal and experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We arrived early at the restaurant, just in time for the gorgeous sunset. The view are breathtaking, overlooking the opera house and harbor bridge. The 4 course menu that we ordered is just excellent in all aspect. The portion size was perfect, the food was perfectly cooked. It is really worth to visit for the food and view despite the price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hktransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    960
    288
    196
    90
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellence in all respects”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is a very special occasion restaurant and one we will never forget.
It is very expensive, but the service & food is unforgettable.
Each course was like a work of art, exquisite in flavour, & perfectly cooked. We were not disappointed & argued about who had the best dish as we had to try each others. All equally wonderful but different- Who would have thought congee tasted so great???
The views are fabulous- Opera House on one side & Harbour Bridge on the other.
Really couldn't fault any second of our experience- except that it was hard to "walk it off" and leave the premises.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDPort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We were a large group seated in the smaller private dining areas and the evening was very average. The venue was freezing as the air con was running far too high. The service was late and slow and food was cold when it eventually arrived.
This is one of Sydney's best restaurants which was average at best.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenJon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best people watching in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

You can sit here, have a great meal and a nice glass of wine and watch the people from around the world go to and from the Opera house. It's like watching the opening ceremonies of the Olympics only the people aren't athletes! Before Sunset is best.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tkmanthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Special night out dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

We were told about this restaurant by a friend where we live. Her nephew is the senior Sous Chef. When we checked into our hotel, following our cruise, I asked the concierge if it would be possible to get dinner on the following night. He said he was very good and his job and he was!

The restaurant is not much to look at but the view is outstanding. We were on the upper level and could see right into the dining room of the ship docked next to us! The guests on the ground floor had a horrible view! Just the ship's hull. If the ship had not been there, the view would have been of the Opera house.

There are two menus, and adjustments can and will be made for food sensitivities or just plain finickiness. We chose the smaller tasting menu which is ONLY four courses and let the waiter who is also the sommelier
chose the wines. We thought the service was quiet, tasteful and invisible. Bread appeared when the bread plate was empty. Crumbs were whisked away. And there was absolutely NO urge to hurry up. This is dining, not eating.

The meal was wonderful. I had the wagu beef filet and my husband has the blue eyed cod as our mail dishes. They were amazing! Desert was the Snow Egg special; Peach pastry cream, under a bed of peach shaved ice and then this Meringue snowball with peach pastry cream in the middle; it was almost too pretty to consumer. The second dessert was Jersey cream topped with shaved toffee. Amazing. I have repeated the word because the meal was just that good.

Would I go back again, Yes! It's not a meal I could or would have every day. But for something special or the next time I am in Sydney, you bet!

Thanks to the amazing staff!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MariettaGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quay Restaurant also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Quay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing