We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quay Restaurant

Quay Restaurant
Ranked #59 of 5,822 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: International, Australian, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: The Rocks
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Amazing lunch and good customer service. The waiter helped us to pick the perfect wine to watch the courses.

Dessert is a must try there!!!!!
The best in Sydney.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MELAirportInfoCentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    958
    287
    191
    86
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Was recently at Quay for a family wedding. What a wonderful location. Food was amazing especially the mackerel and the seven textured chocolate dessert. The service was very attentive and professional. The only thing I could fault them on would be their over service of drinks. Wine was poured into multiple glasses at seats that had no people in them and abandoned glasses around the room were also topped up, which resulted tray after tray of full wine glasses being cleared at the end of the wedding. An extra expense I think most couples would not want.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1212alisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A perfect wedding dinner in Quay's Upper Tower”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

For our wedding dinner my fiance and I had set our minds to invite our intimate group of family and friends (14 people) to enjoy beautiful local food, accompanied by the best Australian wines, and with the most magnificent views Sydney could possibly offer. Quay was all we could think of, and they delivered exactly what we had in mind.

Dealing with the events manager at Quay was easy, straight forward and smooth. All was arranged with a few emails and one on-site visit to view the Upper Tower. I requested a 5 course menu with some canapes to start, and only asked if all wines could be Australian. The chef and sommelier created a beautiful journey through Australian produce that would make many foodie jealous.

Speeches and courses followed each other smoothly and wine was poured continuously. Staff was helpful, available, but kept a perfect background role putting us at the centre of this feast.

In short, with both our families over from Europe for our wedding, Quay showcased their prized take on the Australian cuisine, got them hooked on Australian wines, and offered vastly impressive and sweeping views on the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. A perfect night for us, and a once-in-a-lifetime experience for our small group of family and friends from overseas.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TimSVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A seamless dining experience from start to finish!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Had the tasting menu lunch with matched premium wine pairing. Had an outstanding view of the Opera House and the bridge! Very easy to spend hours taking in the view! The food was equally as good as the views!!! Great service, loved every dish! Wines were delicious! The jackfruit snow egg is pure magic!!!! To top it all off I got to meet Peter Gilmore. A truly wonderful dining experience. Expensive, yes - but well worth it!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aussienard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A reputation for being the best in Sydney... not sure.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

This restaurant has a beautiful location - across the harbour from the Opera House - and a hefty reputation - the best in Sydney. The book showcases an exceptional mix of colours and textures, so this place was top of my list during my visit.
I've rated it 'Very good', and certainly a couple of the dishes were excellent, but I had my doubts on some of the mysterious 'hidden' dishes that appeared. The 'in' thing in Australian cuisine appears to be secretive presentation - a white dish with a small pile of crumbs, revealing its hidden ingredients upon investigation. I kind of get it, but they certainly look pretty underwhelming and unappetising arriving at the table. It didn't help that a couple of the dishes I had consisted of a rather gloopy, jellied, I'd even say unpleasant, texture. There is technically complex cooking going on here, but with variable results I think. You may well disagree, and it's certainly worth a visit.
Mr. Michelin has yet to visit Australia, and I have a feeling Peter Gilmore will expect 3 stars. Certainly 1, maybe 2, but 3?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank neonmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quay Restaurant also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Quay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing