We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clever, delicious food, wonderful view.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay Restaurant

Quay Restaurant
Reserve with
Quay Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 5,443 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: International, Australian, Gluten Free Options, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: The Rocks
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Clever, delicious food, wonderful view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful lunch here on a beautiful sunny day. The focus in this restaurant is on the food and the view..everything else is discrete. The staff were very professional and courteous. Exquisite flavours. The Snow Egg is a masterpiece! We will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SueDen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    865
    259
    164
    80
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

i dont know what all the fuss is about this restaurant the ambiance is so old fashion the waiters are cold and not very good. Price too expensive for what you get compared to many other restaurants in Sydney even the Hyatt restaurant is so much nicer. Food too fancy and too many flavors and arrived cold. It was our last place and i was so excited, we went to aria, est, flying fish, Hyatt, iceberg, wildfire and they by fare top quay.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cremebrulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Expereince Overlooking Opera House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had hosted a dining event for our partners recently in this restaurant. It has a wonderful location overlooking the harbour for open air party and a covered place for sitdown dining. The food was of very high quality and the staff was very courteous and helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarun1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best meal in Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Outstanding and innovative dinner. We were on the waiting list but got in and it was worth it but book many months in advance. Everything was outstanding from the food, to the service to the view. We had the multi-course tasting menu and I would strongly recommend that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank robw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Sadly not the wow factor we were looking for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Maybe we are getting blasé about fine dining, but we ate in other noted Sydney restaurants this week and this was the only one that left us feeling 'ho hum'. This is not as good a Vue de Monde or even Le Restaurant (sadly no longer with us) in the degustation area. The food was good, but we have had better and at the price the food should have wowed us. The better dishes on the day were the peas with ham broth, the Snow egg and the 7 layer chocolate cake.
The waiting staff and the Sommelier were great and the view was to die for, sadly... the food, although good, was not.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gaynorclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quay Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Quay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing