We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Dining Expereince Overlooking Opera House” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quay Restaurant

Quay Restaurant
Reserve with
Quay Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 5,348 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: International, Australian, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: The Rocks
United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Expereince Overlooking Opera House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had hosted a dining event for our partners recently in this restaurant. It has a wonderful location overlooking the harbour for open air party and a covered place for sitdown dining. The food was of very high quality and the staff was very courteous and helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarun1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    844
    246
    158
    77
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best meal in Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Outstanding and innovative dinner. We were on the waiting list but got in and it was worth it but book many months in advance. Everything was outstanding from the food, to the service to the view. We had the multi-course tasting menu and I would strongly recommend that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank robw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Sadly not the wow factor we were looking for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Maybe we are getting blasé about fine dining, but we ate in other noted Sydney restaurants this week and this was the only one that left us feeling 'ho hum'. This is not as good a Vue de Monde or even Le Restaurant (sadly no longer with us) in the degustation area. The food was good, but we have had better and at the price the food should have wowed us. The better dishes on the day were the peas with ham broth, the Snow egg and the 7 layer chocolate cake.
The waiting staff and the Sommelier were great and the view was to die for, sadly... the food, although good, was not.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gaynorclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great view. Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Restaurant - Located on the upper floors of the Overseas Passenger Terminal, Quay has a fantastic view of Sydney Harbour. If you're lucky enough to sit in the glass tubular section of the restaurant, you have an almost 360 view of the harbour.

When we arrived, we were greeted by the receptionist. She could have probably been a bit warmer towards us but we weren't there for the sparking conversation with her. We were then shown to the bar, as we arrived slightly early for that very purpose and, afterwards, to our table on the top floor of the glass tubular section of the restaurant.

Food - We were given a strange amuse bouche of a small cup of creamed potato and a small amount of meat jus. It was strange and very reminiscent of sausage and mash (without the sausage) but enjoyable, I suppose. The dishes were beautifully presented and the flavour combinations were very well thought out. Quay is famous for its desserts and they didn't disappoint. We each chose the degustation menu but wanted to swap one of the Snow Eggs for a chocolate cake and they didn't have an issue with it at all. I wasn't a huge fan of the cake but my wife thoroughly enjoyed it (and vice versa with the Snow Egg - I thought it was fantastic).

Drinks - My wife, as always, chose from the cocktail list and really enjoyed a few of those. I relied on the Sommelier to recommend wine (a half bottle to go with the mains and a glass of sweet wine for the desserts) and they were both excellent choices - I couldn't fault them at all.

Staff - Apart from the receptionist at FOH, the rest of the staff were perfect. Not too intrusive or quiet. Perfectly professional when required and jovial when appropriate. The Sommelier was great and another one of the waiters was also good to us. The whole staff unit made the night extra special.

Overall - We had a great night here and would definitely go again if we were in Sydney. We made quite a last minute booking for the Sunday night and managed to get in which was great. Really enjoyed the food and the view was spectacular.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SDCowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lived up to their reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were lucky enough to get a table at Quay at short notice through American Express Concierge service for our wedding anniversary. We were delighted to be shown to a lovely table with a fantastic view of the Opera House and bridge.
From start to finish the experience was very special as we had hoped. We decided to go for the degustation menu $225 pp with a classic wine selection to accompany at $95 pp. We were advised by Nathan(sommelier) that the classic selection is mostly Australian wines while the premium at a whopping $175 pp is mainly imported. Nathan is very clever and described the wines in a way that brought the pairings to life. We had a selection of food servers but special mention to a tall lady with red hair (name escapes me) who served us effortlessly and made the evening special. Foodwise, each course was outstanding and we loved how many of the processes involved were explained on delivery. Special mention to the XO Seafood and the goose with forbidden rice. I would love to be able to afford eat here regularly, it's really a special occasion destination but so well worth it. Loved the little box of extra petit fours in the Happy Anniversary box. Thanks, Quay, for a fantastic experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elsie18a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quay Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Quay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing