We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quay Restaurant

Quay Restaurant
Ranked #58 of 5,815 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: International, Australian, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: The Rocks
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Exceptional Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was invited to my Friend's 40th birthday at this Restaurant so I was really looking forward to something very special.At our table of six we had some serious foodies - including a staff member from Quay and a Sommelier from another hatted Sydney Restaurant.We opted for the four course menu with all of us alternate dishes so that we could sample it all.The Blackmore Wagyu was sublime whilst the tables favourite starter was the Congee of Northern Australian mud crab which just melted in the mouth.Our tables Sommelier out done himself by ordering some unbelievable wines - at most stages of the evening we had at least three glasses of different wines to choose from - with the standout being a Magnum of the Kooyong Ferrous Pinot Noir.Our next course included the Roasted Goose - my first Goose and the Pig Cheek both of these courses were very enjoyable.Peter Gilmore called by the table to say hello which I think is a really nice touch.Our third courses included the Hapuka and the Roasted milk fed lamb which would go down as the best lamb dish I have ever had.To finish we simply had to have the much talked about Raspberry and vanilla snow egg and this dessert did not disappoint and I am still dreaming about the silky texture of the snow egg.The Quay experience is exceptional and it is backed up by very slick Staff - is it worth the money - ABSOLUTELY !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roosterman2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    958
    286
    191
    86
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The fantastic view matches the fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The view from the coat hanger through to the Oprah House are no short of breathtaking. This combined with some very delicate and flavoursome dishes makes a combination made in heaven

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“4 course dinner menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Started well with a complimentary light ox tail consume. Where else the breads serve were just normal. First course was cold poached chicken wt shashimi slice scallop which is a wonderful combination; both light flavour contrasting each other well. Next was, roast goose wt forbidden rice. Goose was done ok but rice was terrible and over salty; a failure. Last savoury was lamb in goats milk which was wonderfully tender, moist and caramelise. Finally the dessert was a 8 layer choc cake wt different texture which was very good. Overall, close to a 1 michelin star standard wt a 2 michelin star pricing.

Helpful?
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC FOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Best degustation food ever! I had degustation from tetsuya and est. and their food is nothing compared to the Quay! The service was amazing aswell as the decor and food. Went here for valentines day and was the best experience ever! You will need to save up though but it is worth it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thtgrlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food. Mediocre service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I would have to agree that the food at this restaurant is excellent. However our evening was spoilt by mediocre service.

We had a late sitting for dinner (9pm) and after being seater we were left unattended for some time. We ordered our drinks eventually and decided on the a la carte style menu. Throughout the evening we were continually trying to get the attention of staff that just kept rushing past and ignoring us. We also felt like our courses were coming out too quickly and had to ask for them to slow down. You shouldn't feel like you are being rushed through your meal just so they can close up the restaurant!

Given that service is such a big part of the experience when you are at this price point I can not possibly recommend dinner at this restaurant. I would consider other options next time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elphenstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quay Restaurant also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Quay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing