We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unable to cater for coeliacs”

The East Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #420 of 5,944 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $16 - $58
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unable to cater for coeliacs”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have eaten at the restaurant in the past and have enjoyed their food. On this occasion, however, we had a member of our party who has coeliac disease. It was their final night in Sydney, and we thought that it would be a nice end to their visit to have a nice meal in a great location.

We called ahead to book the table and specifically asked them if they are able to cater for somebody who cannot eat gluten and were told that they would be able to adapt some of the dishes to suit.

On this advice, we went ahead and booked the table. We ordered the wine and began looking through the menu and when the waiter came over we asked about which dishes were either gluten free or could be adapted to suit. We were then told that the only starter that can be made gluten free was the seafood sang choy bau and a salmon main course! All the meats had been already marinated and they did not have any non-marinated meat.

We were all very disappointed and wish we had been told when we asked on booking they would not be able to cater for a coeliac, we would have gone elsewhere.

Of course, we understand in a busy restaurant that preparation is the key, but there are many people out there who are either coeliac or gluten intolerant and restaurants should be able to cater for this need.

I have given the restaurant 2 stars based on their lack of ability to cater for an important dietary need and not for the quality of the food served under normal circumstances, so if you don't have any dietary requirements, fill your boots!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hairypony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    104
    40
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Flavour with a view”
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Went to The East recently on a busy Friday night with a workmate. The first thing that struck me was THAT view. Wow.

The sang choy bow we shared for entree was sooo flavoursome. We then shared the Sichuan chicken which again was full of flavour.

My friend had the fried ice cream for dessert which looked pretty damn good.

The service was friendly and I look forward to returning to The East in a couple of weeks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank piedoystercatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a great location”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The location, close by the Opera House and Circular Quay means that eating in this prime site is not cheap. However I have paid a lot more for less good food. We shared 4 main courses. The duck was superb. Chicken and crocodile tail were almost as good and the huge salt prawns were near perfection. Service was attentive and quick. We ate outside on a sunny evening. Watching the world go by is an entertainment in itself. This was a very enjoyable dining experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silversurfer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Yummy and Incredible Location.. you can't go wrong”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was not my first time to eat here, but my first review. I always loving coming to eat at The East because it has the best spot to view the harbor and really good food.

On this trip I had a selection of veggie appetizers and soup and followed it up with chocolate mousse. All was very good. The waiters were very friendly and sitting outside was as always wonderful. Although it was a bit chilly out, they have heaters to keep you just the right temperature. Plus they are open till 10:30pm so you can come anytime for a tasty meal.

Of course it can cost a bit, but after all you are helping pay their rent for the terrific view.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PepeTravels44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious food - Would definitely recommend!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The best crispy shredded beef I've ever had, and if it's on the menu then I will always order it!! The Bf had steak in peking sauce and again that was very good. We had a tonne of rice and i also had the duck dumplings to start - again very nice... Yes it was a bit pricey but it does have great views of the sydney bridge and I would totally go there again.  Would definitely recommend and wouldn't hesitate to return :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bambeepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The East Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The East Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing