We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed view”

Chiswick at the Gallery
Reserve a Table
Ranked #110 of 7,514 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Chiswick at the gallery is a casual dining restaurant within the Art Gallery of NSW. It offers a lovely seasonal signature menu, with the ingredients coming straight from the garden kitchen. Experience dining after seeing the most beautiful artwork collection in the world while overlooking Sydney Harbour and Woolloomooloo. Place your reservations today!
Reviewed June 10, 2019 via mobile

Nice location and attentive staff.... but...
Meal was very simple and very over priced. The lunch menu was quite limited and a bit bistro like... fish and chips; pork belly; salmon and pasta. Hoping for a bit more innovation. Not bad just not what we expected.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank 456francis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solotel M, Manager at Chiswick at the Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Hi Francis. Thank you for taking the time to leave a constructive review, we really appreciate your candor. As you can imagine, we get a wide range of guests visiting the Art Gallery of NSW; from international tourists, locals, special occasions, members, families and elderly guests. We try really hard to offer a diplomatic menu that appeals to our wide range of clientele. We are disappointed however, that we did not meet your expectations. We are just about to change some of the dishes over for our Winter Menu, so we will incorporate your feedback and I;m sure that the next time you come in, you will be pleasantly surprised. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Team Chiswick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 335 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I booked in for lunch. It took a little while to be seated, we were 5mins early for our booking so just wandered through the gallery for 10mins. We were eventually seated, the table was next to the window which provided a nice view. We ordered the sweet potato scallops with kasundi and the lamb shoulder. We were advised additional side dishes might be excessive. The potato scallops were a stand out, crispy and kasundi full of flavor. The lamb was succulent and cooked perfectly but it was overshadowed by the accompanying salad which was extremely moorish. My husband who lives by the you don’t make friends with salad rule thought it was the best part of the meal! We finished with the treacle tart and chocolate mousse. The tart was good, but the mousse was delicious.... Overall we thought the lunch was extremely good value, we would return next time we are in Sydney and recommend it for an indulgent but not pretentious lunch. The only thing that could make it better is if Matt Moran opened a restaurant in Melbourne!

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank CatGtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solotel M, Manager at Chiswick at the Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Hi Cat G. Thank you for the great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed each of the dishes...especially the salad! I will make sure to pass along your comments to the chefs and Matt Moran. It is also great to read that you thought the meal was extremely good value as we try really hard to price our dishes so that everyone can enjoy them whether it's for a special lunch or just sustenance before viewing all the amazing art. Fingers crossed we will open in Melbourne one day soon. Team Chiswick x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

Worst service I've ever experienced. I'm not the only one that feels like this. Food is certainly not worth the crap experience and sass from the staff.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank isabel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solotel M, Manager at Chiswick at the Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2019

Hi Isabel. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We would love to know more about your experience. Please contact the restaurant directly as we always want to win back a guest's patronage who has not enjoyed their lunch with us. Team Chiswick x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019 via mobile

The Moran Family Lamb. What else do I need to say? Oh, lovely wine, good service, beautiful views, not too noisy, can actually have a conversation and it feels warm and intimate. A beautiful, relaxing, afternoon with the family for my Dad’s birthday.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank 409juliang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solotel M, Manager at Chiswick at the Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2019

Hi Juliang. Thank you for the five start review. We hope that your Dad had a wonderful birthday. Thank you for choosing Chiswick to help celebrate the special occasion. I will make sure to tell Matt Moran that you loved his lamb too! Lol. Hope to see you again soon. Team Chiswick x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2019

What a wonderful way to celebrate birthdays.
The food is delicious and the wait staff excellent. Friendly helpful and knowledgeable. Thank you for organising the small gifts for the "Birthday Girls"

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cmhardy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solotel M, Manager at Chiswick at the Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2019

Hi CM Hardy. We love helping guests celebrate their birthdays and we feel honored when we are the restaurant of choice for the occasion. We hope to see you and the 'birthday girls' again soon. Team Chiswick x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiswick at the Gallery also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Chiswick at the Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing