We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food & Impeccable Service”

Macleay Street Bistro
Ranked #153 of 5,891 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: City East
Description: This is bistro cuisine at its finest, influenced by France with the best of modern Australia completing the mix. The menu is complemented by our weekly blackboard specials, showcasing the best in market freshness, alongside our benchmark bistro dishes. Local and international diners value the intimate privacy and discretion of the modern dining experience on offer. The Bistro has a great wine list showcasing a range of French and Australian wines. As well you can BYO wine with a corkage charge. The Bistro nestled in the 'Paris end' of Potts Point. Join us, to enjoy quality and consistency in all aspects of modern food and wine service. Macleay Street Bistro is open 7 nights from 5.30-11Pm and all day dining on Saturday and Sunday. We only close on Christmas Day.
CAIRNS
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food & Impeccable Service”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately these days it is rare to find a restaurant that gets both aspects of dining right....this place does just that in spades full...!
A great bistro-style menu that is not overwhelming but rest-assured delicious....try the scallops - they are the best I've had for a long time....6 were not enough...!
The wait staff are attentive and there when you need them; knowledgeable, friendly and helpful with their suggestions.... The new owners are obviously making all the right decisions with the changes they've recently made as both times I dined there in the last week, the place was full....book ahead as the restaurant is. It huge...I can't wait to get back there....!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travellor69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    65
    18
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Reliably good food and friendly service”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This restaurant has never let me down, Whenever I can't decide where to eat, I always end up at the Macleay Street Bistro. I took a friend for dinner there for his birthday and we both had exceptionally good food and the service was spot on.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth2859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Timeless bistro dining in Potts Point”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

In a city where restaurants come and go as fickle diners move on to the next new thing, Macleay Street Bistro bucks the trend. Open for 20-plus years, MSB continues to dish up scrumptious classic French bistro food, with great wines by bottle or glass. Still thinking about the perfect Sydney rock oysters with a simple champagne vinaigrette followed by the best spatchcock ever from my last visit. Service is spot-on too, and the ambience smart French bistro. Will be back there again on my next Sydney visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VoyageMaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The tradition lives on.”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Brilliant ! Good to see that the tradition of Macleay St Bistro continues under the new regime. Well done to all, the food was superb from the confit duck salad and salmon entrees to the perfectly cooked snapper and the perfect spatchcock with chorizo for mains. Special mention to the lovely Nooraini ( maitre d ) who we met for the very first time on Saturday, for making us feel so welcome. I was unsure what to expect after so many fabulous dinners from Carol and team but no worries the ship is in great hands !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelCiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
“Fine dining and a lovely evening.”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We found the food magnificent, service excellent and the atmosphere perfect. Well done to management and staff, we will definitely be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macleay Street Bistro also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Macleay Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing