We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Food and Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macleay Street Bistro

Macleay Street Bistro
Reserve with
Macleay Street Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #255 of 5,815 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: City East
Description: This is bistro cuisine at its finest, influenced by France with the best of modern Australia completing the mix. The menu is complemented by our weekly blackboard specials, showcasing the best in market freshness, alongside our benchmark bistro dishes. Local and international diners value the intimate privacy and discretion of the modern dining experience on offer. The Bistro has a great wine list showcasing a range of French and Australian wines. As well you can BYO wine with a corkage charge. The Bistro nestled in the 'Paris end' of Potts Point. Join us, to enjoy quality and consistency in all aspects of modern food and wine service. Macleay Street Bistro is open 7 nights from 5.30-11Pm and all day dining on Saturday and Sunday. We only close on Christmas Day.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
524 reviews
358 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

One night in Sydney.....thank goodness we found this restaurant! We both had appetizers which were great. The mains.....veal stuffed chicken and breaded pork on the bone were super. Have seen the mixed reviews of this restaurant and they are puzzling! We would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank drlehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    61
    16
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Overpriced and left a lot to be desired”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I was only in Potts Point for one night, and went here on the recommendation of friends. We wanted a table outside-when we arrived there were three vacant tables. Despite this, we were told that we had to sit inside. Outside the establishment looks appealing-never judge a book by its cover! The tables were too close together, and there is a definite need for air conditioning. My friend was in the process of ordering a bottle of wine when our waiter decides to go for a walk. Ten minutes later, he strolls back to our table.

There was no atmosphere, there was no mention of any specials, and what was on the menu was not only overpriced but was very unappealing.

I ordered the iceberg salad(as nothing else on the menu interested me in the slightest)-a lot of brown spots on the leaves and not crisp at all. Meal portions were miniscule.

I am more than happy to pay for good food-but this establishment lacked that and provided extremely poor service.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank balijulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“4 visits during our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Wouldn't have called it Australian food though. More on the French side we thought. But everytime we went it was great service and food. Managers(two slim guys) and waiters(an Italian man and young Aussie girl) were welcoming, friendly and attentive.
We experienced two chefs -a man and a woman. Both were eager to ensure the food was done as we requested (fussy steak eaters!) Loved starters, mains and deserts in equal measure!!
The restaurant helped to make a stay in Sydney over the NY period memorable and worthwhile. (30th Dec - 9th Jan).
We'd say cosy rather than cramped! Added to the romance and atmosphere. Great, buzzy location too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Two visits in 4 days!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I used to frequently dine here back in 1999 and 2000 when we lived in Sydney.
We returned in 2003 for a quick trip and dined here then also.
We then had another small trip to Sydney and were pleased to see the restaurant was still around.
We bought some wine from local bottle shop and dined on the first night of our trip when temp sored to 43.5c. We thoroughly enjoyed our shared plate with Iranian figs and Gorgonzola cream and then asparagus tart, crab dumplings.
Mains were equally good and then we shared a desert of pannacotta. A glass of chilled limoncello and coffee to follow.about Aus $210.
The following night we took our teenage son out to dine with us and tried some different things on menu. Wait staff friendly and attentive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“failed on all levels”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

The concierge told us not to go to The Macleay St Bistro(he recommeneded Sardine Room & Monopole which we went to, both excellent) but we went anyway. We wanted Steak Tartare. The experience was bad from the start. The waiter smelt of cigarette smoke which was disgusting. The oysters which are sold as freshly shucked, which we doubt, as we could see them being served, had a strange chlorine taste and arrived on the table within minutes. The Steak Tartare was like mince and had a paste like texture. The meat was not helped by vinegary tasting condiments which were also a paste. From our experience Steak tartare and the condiements should be should be handcut and of the highest quality. The Macleay Street Bistro was not up to our standard but other patrons seemed like they were enjoying it. Very expensive for a terrible experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank SS537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macleay Street Bistro also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Macleay Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing