We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice restaurant but very pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tokonoma

Tokonoma
Ranked #1,110 of 5,822 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant but very pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Service and staff were great and fast.

Food quality is good however it very pricey despite with the amount you pay for. Therefore it's probably worth getting the tasters for a well money worth.

Ambience is nice however it can be difficult to have a conversation due to the background noise.

Overall experience is great but not something you go to on a regular basis as this dinning is more of a special occasion as well as the price you pay for.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doggybag box
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    56
    12
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent food. Music played could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Food was excellent. The display of food was artistic and beautiful. Only the music played was a bit too 'western'.

i think if the restaurant can choose some traditional Japanese music or light music would be better fit the ambience and theme of the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chili W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
368 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 757 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Get here early have a drink at the bar and enjoy food to die for. Good service with an equally expensive wine list.
Nice setting, can get quite loud especially at the weekend. Try and get a table for two rather than a public table.
Book.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank undercoverelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a real delight in beautiful Surry Hills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had dinner at Toko Restaurant last night on the Queens Birthday. It was our 4th visit to this restaurant, and we were happy to be back again. We have chosen from the a-la-carte menu on previous occasions, but last night we chose the Sora Tasting Menu. Beautiful food, nicely decorated plates, and right size servings. We loved everything, but the Salmon Tartare, Moreton Bay Bug, Wagyu Beef and Chocolate Lava dessert cake were outstanding! They have a nice collection of sake and other drinks to go with your food, and if you don't know what to choose, staff is able to give some good advice. Service is very attentive and helpful. Highly recommended and we happily go back here for sure!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanetteinAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Died and gone to heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

It's hard to describe the experience you have at Toko unless you have been there. The layout is just so welcoming as is watching the chefs prepare everything in the open kitchen. Beautiful music flowing through the place with the very sleek staff moving around like worker ants. The flavours in each of the dishes are better than the one you have had previously and the wine to compliment is just heavenly. Didn't try the sake as I was driving , left the place like I was walking on clouds. To put it in one word .........F#%€ Me !!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokonoma also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Tokonoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing