We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Italian dinner...”
Review of Lucetta

Lucetta
Ranked #423 of 5,836 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Average Italian dinner...”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We ate here one Friday night after reading the great reviews on TripAdvisor.

Overall we thought this was a perfectly pleasant but unremarkable Italian meal compared with the many Italian meals we had had in Italy, Europe, and the rest of the world.

In summary;

Location - centrally located in Sydney - although in quite a road filled area opposite a Fire Station

Restaurant atmosphere - nice size, although incredibly hot on our visit [no aircon?] - despite the huge fans blowing throughout (made it very noisy) - crowd was a mixture of families and young groups

Service - very friendly and efficient - a definite plus

Food - we had some starters (calamari was lovely and tender although a little under cooked - making the bread coating a bit 'gloopy', salad was tasty with delicious fresh tomatoes and mozzarella. Pizzas were a good size, but to our experience a little too thin making them quite dry (almost like a Lebanese flatbread or Mexican wrap / tortilla).

Value - the dinner prices are medium for Sydney - which makes them quite expensive when compared to Europe. That said the lunch menu (which we didn't have) looked great value at under $15.

So all in all a fine but unremarkable meal - would come back for the better value lunch if (a) in the area (b) it was cooler - but would try somewhere else for Italian / pizza dinner...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidIsMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    82
    26
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food and great service all at a great price. Highly recommend. The pizza base is to die for. Well done to the chef. Will definitely seek this place out next time I'm in Sydney.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob74uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
533 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Perfecta at Lucetta!!!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We dined here and absolutely were impressed with everything!!! What a little gem just out of cbd. We shared the calamari which was delish and a huge pear and rocket salad. Then shared a stunning chicken pizza with the thinnest crust. No problem to add olives. The young waiter Matt was so polite and helpful even offering a taste of the house white before buying. He was so attentive to any needs and is a real asset to Lucetta. We shared the pannacotta too. The bill was around $60 which was fabulous value. To sum up, the food is fresh, generous and simply delicious. Perfecta, thanks Lucetta..we'll be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great again”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We always try and visit Lucetta when in Sydney and again were not dissapointed. Food is always great and extremely well priced.
It does however get a bit warm inside.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SRS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Incredible find”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I'll keep it short, great food, great service, good value. We walked in on a Saturday night and were lucky to get a table as long as we were out in 1.5 hours. Not a problem, they had the food out quickly which anyone with kids will know is great. We'll definitely book next time we have the misfortune to find ourselves in Sydney.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Followthework
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucetta also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Lucetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing