We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average”
Review of Zilver Restaurant

Zilver Restaurant
Ranked #1,624 of 5,836 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $68 - $68
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Inner West
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Compare to other yumcha restaurants in the city, it's above the average but not the top ones. The food tasted fine but not many selections.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickiVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    83
    47
    24
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good yum cha and fabulous chaos”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Lots of people waiting just take a number and wait to be called. The dining room is massive so it won't take as long as you think. Once inside the ladies with trolling will pop by to check on what you would like. Dumplings are excellent we always go for the steamed variety but there are lots of options if you want fried or seafood or noodles. Do not expect smiling service or any care - just get in there and eat as much as you can - yum!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suezzerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddington, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have been twice to this restaurant with friends & on both occasions has been most delicious. I have had the Peking duck banquet & the yum cha banquet. Plenty of food to go around.
My only complaint is the $2.50 per head for china tea. We also had plenty of beers & wine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth the trip”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I found that this restaurant had great trading yum cha and plenty of the Chinese community giving it great support. The dim sums were tasty a bit different and they had a nice grill going and the servings of the yum cha are a little big bigger than nearby. Also the condiments and sauces are of good quality and if you don't order soft drinks and alcohol your bill will be under $40

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozipeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No Service - Subpar food - Premium price”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Went with family for dinner. Didn't get usual soup or peanuts after ordering. Had to ask for it. Waited 80 min for food. Had to go to the supervisor/waiter three times to rush them. Fried rice was golden coloured rice, not much else. All the ingredients missing? (e.g. prawns/veges/pineapple, etc) Crab was bit stale tasting ... and the rice noodle was overcooked so brittle and bland. Didn't get wet towel and bowl to wash hands until I wiped crap on my napkin (given up asking by this time). I ended up going to McDonalds to buy Fillet O Fish after, if it sums up my dinner. Still had to pay top price $$.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank QQPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zilver Restaurant also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Zilver Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing