We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it”

Corn Exchange Restaurant
Ranked #3,622 of 5,839 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $66 - $87
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Tallahassee,Fl
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

When we check in we saw there was a seafood buffet, which we generally enjoy. Not this time! The crabs were small and hard to get meat out of and when you did, it was pretty tasteless. We like crab and have eaten it often in the U.S. and some in Australia, all much better that this. There other selections looked ok but again didn't have much flavor. We ended up eating mostly prawns, which were alright but they didn't seem to know what cocktail sauce was at this restaurant, so they were pretty bland. The desserts looked lovely, but once again, not flavorful. The cheese was good, until the brie was gone. Because we were in a hurry, we ate there for the buffet breakfast, under my protest.
Average at best, nothing compared to the wonderful Feast restaurant at the Sheraton on the Park. Also, note that you have to climbing stairs to get to this restaurant, unless you happen to notice a small half hidden handicapped lift in the corner. We didn't and only found out about it when my husband asked if there was another way to the restaurant. I would not recommend this place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Corrine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    25
    28
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Average buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I was here once before & wasnt that impressed but i thought that id try again since there was a good deal.
There was a good selection of seafood. The prawns were fresh though & some of crabs were bland, it was like they didnt even put salt when boiling. So there was no consistency. There was also a small selection of salads & hot food (indian curry, fish, rice, roast) I didnt even try the hot food because my husband said that most of it was bland. Some of the desert was nice but some were tasteless too. It was quite dissapointing & wed never go again. Ive had better buffet at the sheraton in the park & marriot. They were busy when i went but the service was alright. We did have to wait around 10 minutes before they took our drinks order. They also gave us the bill 40 minutes before our time was up as if to say. You'll have to go soon.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AvidLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mollymook, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“More food than you can imagine!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We bought an online voucher for this restaurant prior to visiting Sydney. Upon arrival we were quickly ushered to our seats. We were then offered a drinks package for $17 which allowed for unlimited beer, wine and soft drink for one and a half hours. The buffet was extensive with everything from seafood to ice cream and lollies. The food was divine. Our waitress was remarkable, not once did either myself or my husband have to ask for a drink. The voucher made this place extraordinary value for money but I would be happy to pay full price in the future. A must visit for all future trips to Sydney

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Average!!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I recently purchased a voucher for $79 for a 2 person seafood buffet. On arrival we where greeted by a staff member who to be honest was quite rude. She showed us to our table which had no view what so ever. (Mind you no table in the restaurant has) So far not very impressed, we looked at the hot food selection and then headed to the Seafood buffet. There was a choice of Crab, Salmon, chilli Mussels, Prawns and Oysters. The selection was not great but at least in tasted alright. Probably the best part of the meal was the sweet selection, there was plenty of choice and it all looked fantasic.
So all in all the Restaurant has no views of Darling Harbour, 1 staff member was rude, the seafood buffet was average, but the sweet selection was pretty damn good. Probably worth the $79 we paid. But definitely not worth another dollar.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nufc1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I recently purchased a voucher for $79 for 2 people at the seafood buffet (drinks not included). The seafood was fresh and plentiful with a smorgasbord of oysters, king prawns, crab, salmon and mussels. I would have liked to see a little bit more seafood but it was all fresh and a pleasant experience. The rest of buffet consisted of hot dishes including roast beef, fish, stir frys and vegetables plus an arrangement of salads, antipastos, cheese platters and a variety of breads, etc. The desserts are to die for and consist of a gourmet selection of creme brulee, cheesecakes, chocolate cake, ice cream, tarts and a election of lollies that will have you giggling like a little kid. If you avoid the weekend and opt instead for a weeknight, say Wednesday, the service is impeccable and the restaurant not so crowded. Tea and coffee are included but strangely the setup was out in the cold courtyard which made it a little unpleasant. Overall the Four Points Sheraton is a beautiful hotel and the service throughout from the front reception (who will arrange a taxi for you at a moment's notice) to all the restaurant staff

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TropPrincess03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corn Exchange Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Corn Exchange Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing