We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great neighborhood gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Selah - CLOSED

Selah
12 Loftus Street | Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Central Business District)
(02) 9247 0097
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $40 - $40
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great neighborhood gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

While traveling with my family in Sydney in July 2013, we looked hard for a casual restaurant with good food and reasonable prices. We were delighted to find Selah nearby our hotel in Circular Quay, a bistro that really fit the bill. The seafood was outstanding; I had a great meat pie. Good selection of wines and beer. Great atmosphere and friendly service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luck57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way- Australian cusine at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We ate here after many reading of reviews and were thrilled! It has a charming upscale bistro feel without being pretentious, a fabulous wine list, excellent service, and inventive, authentic Australian dishes. You can come dressy or casual, and it's a perfect representation of fabulous Australian cusine - it was one of the first stops in a full East and South Coast Australia trip and one of our best meals - period! Not to mention its a great value! Eat here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beach922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Dinner with friends, it has pleasant atmosphere, not too noisy so easy to chat. Good quality and tasty food, simple but good. Quite expensive but impeccable service. Highly recommended and would definitely return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jawillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“SUPERB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were first in on a Sunday evening, we were going to see Renee Geyer at the Opera House. We had been once before for a pre show meal, this time we managed 3 courses over 85 mins and the food was superb. I had roasted pumpkin risotto for entree - full of flavour and cooked to perfection, followed by the beef which was so tender and to top it off the Chocolate fondant desert which was amazingly good. The food came out at a nice pace, the serving size was just right, our water glasses were filled as soon as they were getting low. Thanks Selah for a great meal - followed by a fantastic show by Renee Geyer - we had a top night out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank acutlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Selah - love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Second time at Selah and it was just as amazing as the first visit. This time we went for Friday lunch and the service could not be faulted;there was apparently a slight delay between our entree and main (honestly we didn't notice) but we were unexpectedly compensated with a complimentary salad & chips for the table. Completely satisfied we were then provided complimentary dessert yum!!

I would not hesitate to recommend Selah the food is amazing and the service enhances the overall experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gacevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Selah also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#