We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare 5 star snacks n tap’s ”

Old Fitzroy Hotel Bistro
Ranked #1,360 of 7,503 Restaurants in Sydney
Neighborhood: City East
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: City East
Reviewed June 11, 2019 via mobile

What the ...seriously,
Pork pie tart ♥️ . Hot chip butty-great fun & add a upgrade house chicken salt ...off da hook
Great local pouring friendly service and meals
Thanks old fitzroy

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank K9742ZDdavidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 56 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2019 via mobile

Main bar is grubby and smells of smoke ( due to bad fire ventilation). It also smelled of paint ? but the place has not been painted in many years. The food was very basic, unappealing and overpriced.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank ann k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

We decided to try the old Fitzroy pub for dinner on Saturday night.
The pub had a wood fired burning away in the main bar, which just added to the charm.
The staff were super friendly.
The menu wasn’t huge but we all found something we would like to order, which you ordered at the bar.
Table serve for when the food was ready.
I had steak and chats potatoes, this would have to be one of the best meals I’ve ever had in a pub.
Well worth a visit, you won’t be disappointed in the food.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Kensingtoncarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

We had happened upon this place when driving to our hotel in a rental car and were intrigued, and after stopping in, were not disappointed.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Mary Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2019 via mobile

As part of an excursion from our cruise ship we sampled a number of beers at Old Fitzroy Hotel Bistro and was given a primer on beer by Garry, who apparently owns the place. As we arrived in the early afternoon, our group of ten had the place to ourselves and Garry’s undivided attention.

The venue is a well established brick building, the first floor in a small hotel. Apparently it is associated also with a 70-seat theatre on the backside. You could check-in for a weekend and never leave the building. I didn’t notice any parking other than street side.

Garry clearly knows his beers and makes a fine presentation. His associate behind the bar also seems to be a fine fellow.

The beer was cold and the place was clean. Our driver / guide explained that neighborhood pubs serve as a “living room” for the small homes nearby as conversation leaves the house and is conducted in the pub. Old Fitzroy is what you should expect from a neighborhood pub.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank NXTTRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Fitzroy Hotel Bistro also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Old Fitzroy Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing