We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Terrific bistro experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vamp's B Y O Bistro - CLOSED

Vamp's B Y O Bistro
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Paddington
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Terrific bistro experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Authentic French food. Great execution and considering the large menu size they do a great job. Classics like pate, French onion soup are terrific and all the meat dishes were great. Surprisingly the pomme frites were not much good.
The BYO is a bonus. Service was very freindly and we had a fun and relaxed evening. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mwills2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    30
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
135 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food, great service, nice ambience, a bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Small crowded little place with some resemblance of a good restaurant in Paris.
Great menu selection and nice service and people ...
Priced right up there... In fact, a bit over priced.

We keep coming back tho.

Helpful?
Thank TrevelerFB2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We came across this charming restaurant by chance and we were not disappointed . The food and service were excellent the pricing was good for the quality of food and wine .location lovely and obviously a local favourite, a definite return visit .

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT - Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very quick service with a smile, food was very reasonable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Business dinner for 5 selected by a local. Food did not disappoint. Prices very reasonable for he quality. Ate non 'frenchy' style, but most of us selected off the specials. Meal size was very good for the type of restaurant. Prices were very reasonable. Shared sides between 5 and three was adequate. No one was hungry for dessert so all had coffee and petite-fours chocolate truffle. Couldn't believe how fast the service was without feeling like we were being pushed out. Dined on a mid weeknight.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J79guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“unpretentious but enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We are two of the 'loyal locals' another reviewer referred to. We love Vamps. The staff are friendly and the atmosphere is very welcoming. The food is very traditional french bistro e.g. onion soup, pate, duck a l'orange, crepes suzette.... It's not the kind of stuff you seen on MasterChef (go to L'Etoile next door if that's what you want) but it's far more reasonably priced and dare I say it probably more enjoyable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paddingtontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vamp's B Y O Bistro also viewed

 
North Strathfield, Sydney
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing