We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chili Blue Backpackers
Ranked #97 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is the absolute worst hostel I have ever stayed in. Travelling in a three, we only managed one night before checking out. Disgusting smell in our tiny, dirty, prison-like room. No windows and in one day saw 2 cockroaches in our room. Had to go through communal shower to get to our room, making it very hot. Unfriendly staff and very limited wifi - only available standing outside the hostel. Unfriendly atmosphere amongst other travelers. Unresponsive when asked about refund, even 2 weeks later they have yet to reply to emails. We ended up at 'The Maze' hostel in Haymarket which was clean, friendly, and ideally located for the same price. Definitely go there instead!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 156 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

+ free wifi
+ location (next to Kings Cross station)

- wifi extremely slow
- messy and smelly rooms
- disgusting kitchen
- unreliable key card system... your key card randomly will not be accepted so you have to knock and hope for someone to let you in - I asked the manager about this problem and his advice was to leave the door open!
- no or broken lockers (depends on room)
- complicated key deposit system... refunds will only be transferred to your credit card account

Stay away, there are a lot better hostels around...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

If you are looking for a party hostel, this is the place to be. The kitchen may be a dirty place but after a while you don't care anymore because the atmosphere is really good! Everybody is partying together at the yard (playing goon pong, listening to music, meting new friend) and afterwards we went out with the whole group. This is not a hostel like all the big hostels with the endless list of rules. When you're not into the party, meeting other people and when hygiene very important for you; search for an other place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thijs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hostel was a complete nightmare. The member of staff on reception was rude, the rooms were disgusting with the most uncomfortable beds, the kitchen was beyond a joke - I don't know how we managed to cook a meal in there. One morning I went for a shower to find broken glass on the floor and fag buts in the sink. I like a party and a drink but the people that live at this hostel were just plain disgusting and disrespectful to anyone else staying there. The wi-fi was rubbish, we had to go to the internet cafe in Kings Cross. The only good thing was that it was close to Kings x station. On numerous occasions we were woken during the night by people shouting and even breaking doors down, we later realised this was the night manager! A joke of a hostel run by a bunch of jokers, stay well clear.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this place for two nights in August 2012 and it was disgusting! Unfortunately Sydney is too expensive to leave and forget about the price of hostels or I'd have walked instantly!

I was given room four and wow, horrific! Now I have no problem with long stay travellers but why do hostels then feel like rooms do not then need to be cleaned? The place was a tip with clothes, bags and other garbage everywhere! The smell was disgraceful and this was only a 6 bed dorm, with it being small it made it even worse!

The showers were okay mind and the Internet was fast although the wifi was terrible and you only get a voucher for 24 hour stints?!?

The guy at the desk was rude and you have to pay deposits for your key, towels, dishes (seperatley) which you get refunded back to your card at the end of your stay?!?! Ridiculous!

Oh last point was the kitchen area which was disgusting also! Someone had made some pasta dish and left it lying in the sink, the next day it was still sitting there and although as travellers we have a responsibility to tidy after ourselves you would have thought someone from the hostel would have picked up on it and dealt with it... Had the hostel been clean I'd have probably done it myself but I was far too annoyed with the place to bother!

All in all I would recommend people stay away from this place, it should be investigated for health and safety in my opinion! Terrible hostel, it really is!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

After seeing great reviews for this place we booked in for our first night in Sydney. Arrived to find the reception floor being dug up by workmen. The room was dark and smelly. The toilet and shower locks didn't all work. The kitchen was dirty and you had to pay a deposit for plates and cups. Wifi (which was free) was weak and often cut out. Had to stand in the street to get a good reception. The free breakfast consisted, of 1 boiled egg, a piece of toast and a slice of cheese. A nice touch but nothing special. Stay if you don't mind bunking with rowdy inconsiderate people, can put up with a sleepless night and don't mind living in mess. Everyone else, avoid.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juicygoose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Honestly the worst place I have ever satyed in my life. I did not checked the reviews before arriving there and I really regret about it.
The staff is rude, rooms are dirty, etc.
Please avoid going there!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolas_de_la_vega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Summer House Backpackers
#17 of 143 in Sydney
119 reviews
Glebe
Glebe Village Backpackers
Glebe Village Backpackers
#76 of 143 in Sydney
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zing Backpackers
#35 of 143 in Sydney
136 reviews
790 on George
#57 of 143 in Sydney
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chili Blue Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chili Blue Backpackers

Address: 144 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $19 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Chili Blue Backpackers 1.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLEASE NOTE THAT WE HAVE NEW MANAGEMENT AND RENOVATIONS HAVE BEEN UNDERGOING SINCE MAY 2014 Comfortable, clean & central. What you are looking for? Welcome to ChilliBlue - the perfect place to base yourself in Sydney. Whether you are coming for a night or two or staying for months you will find that Chilli Blue will provide the warm friendly, clean and comfortable home away from home that you have been looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chili Blue Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chili Blue Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing