We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chili Blue Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)
$191
$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$219
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$138
$131
Novotel
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Novotel Sydney Central(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$134
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$240
$204
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$200
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$270
$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$106
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$202
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$220
$118
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
30
16
17
23
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
16
17
23
74
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 160 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The showers are ok, 3 cubicles, not so well suited for woman.
Toilets are fine too, they seem to be reasonably clean but often you get yobs making a mess of the toilets, by urinating over the floors and seats, someone spewed all over the walls and left it like that. The locks often get broken on the toilets, I had to fix it myself twice as it wasn't getting done and we were down to one toilet.
The courtyard is rubbish and small.

The wifi didn't work, had to use library wifi near city

The rooms are really hot and stuffy with no air con, their a fan in the room but it dries your eyes and throat and makes you feel terrible, we're going to have to check out now because we just can't get any sleep with the extreme heat.

The kitchen area is small and we never bother ever using it.

This hostel boasts how good it is but really it's quite horrible and noisy and full of noisy drunk people the whole time.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Chili Blue is cheap and that's about it. Our room was right by the stairs and the bathrooms hence very noisy. We had to walk through the communal areas and via an outside courtyard to reach the room. After 10pm quiet rule was ignored. No staff at hostel overnight. Communal areas overcrowded and outdated. Cockroaches in rooms and corridor. Breakfast was adequate.

Most guests were gap year students - some long term.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simbelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

the rooms,toilets,showers were fine,but the bedrooms were cold at night, the staff were rude several times and not helpful

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresa1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Oke, it's cheap. That's it really. And it makes you doing A LOT of things outdoors, as you never want to return to this dirty hostel.
When we walked in the owner didn't even bother to get his finger out of his nose. We could hardly walk into the room, as the stuff of our 'roommates' was literally everywhere, except in the closets. My bottom sheet had some spots I'd rather not know where or whom they came from, and somebody was friendly enough to leave his chewing gum on the wall where my pillow was. Oh, and that pillow, yeah... that was covered whit blood stains. Enjoy your stay people, we're off to their neighbours!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dutch_delight013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We spent 5 nights in Chilli Blue in June 2011. We decided to go with them since they were offering the cheapest accommodation in the city. The place turn to be disgusting due to very poor quality of the staff. They seem to assume that if they are cheaper than their competition they do not have to care. That still would not be so bad if they were not extremely rude in personal contacts. I discourage everybody to stay there - better pay 2 - 3 bucks more and have polite guys in the reception desk!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews