We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Good Meal at a Moderate Cost"”
Review of Zia Pina Pizzeria

Zia Pina Pizzeria
Ranked #734 of 5,935 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Rocks
South Australia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“"A Good Meal at a Moderate Cost"”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Whenever we visit Sydney this Restaurant is on our list of places to dine. It is reliably consistent and staff members must be extremely fit as they quickly clamber up steep stairs in the course of delivering sundry meals to patrons. The meals are very enjoyable and at a moderate cost.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank levymal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    245
    121
    62
    121
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Without a doubt the worst dining experience I've ever had.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

What a way to spend our anniversary. We tried this place because it looked busy and mistakenly thought that if a lot of folks liked it, it should be good. Boy were we wrong.

The wait for a table wasn't too bad. Maybe 30 minutes at most. Once we got to our table, the nightmare began. From the time we were seated and given water until the time we received our drink order (soft drinks, nothing more) was about 15 minutes. It was so ridiculous that it had become kind of a joke with my wife and me, so I started watching my watch.

After receiving our drinks, it was about another 25 minutes before our disinterested waiter, who had passed our table dozens of times, finally stopped to take our order.

Again, the orders were simple. Spaghetti with red sauce is all we wanted. Thinking that it would take forever, I checked my watch again when he walked away. 45 minutes passed until we were served - or even noticed. By then both our soft drinks and water glasses had long since been empty.

Our spaghetti was served in bowls seemingly half full with a rise colored water that clearly had not been drained well at all. The sauce mixed in with the residual water, making what was basically like a spaghetti soup. Immensely disappointing.

Again, when we finished, the wait resumed to get our check. Another 20 minutes after we had finished eating, our mysterious waiter reappeared, delivered the check, and for the only time that night, acted fairly quickly in running our card.

This is the only time in my life I left no tip. It was that bad.

I will never go back here again, and would recommend AGAINST it to anyone I know.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rominato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Glen, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“First Time Back in 5 Years, Still Yummy!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Perfectly thin, crispy crust. Nice atmosphere in a great location walking distance from the CBD and Circular Quay.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carljw116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Avoid this place....”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

....like the plague! If what this restaurant serves is what authentic Italian food is, then its an insult to Italian food. Period! Upon being seated I noticed that the table wasn't cleaned. I mentioned this to the waiter and he just shrugged and said "Sorry mate, we can't clean it, that's the last table we got tonight, take it or leave it" I mean, seriously? I ordered the Agnolotti and its the worst I've ever tasted. It was lukewarm, saltless and appeared that the chef had just pulled the ravioli out of the refrigerator and in a hurry concocted something that would be a total insult to agnolotti. Avoid these fools and spend your hard earned $$$ elsewhere. The manner in which the waiters treat customers is appalling and despicable. Like someone else had mentioned, they laugh right in your face when you place the order and when you want to clarify something on the menu, they either feign ignorance or just don't want to be bothered with these questions. Anyway, long story short, there are several other options available in the area and truly these people don't deserve to be in the business.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chandsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We all had one of the nicest meals and service for a long while the pasta dishes were delicious and would thoroughly recommend this restaurant for service and food and very reasonably priced for the location would definately go back again

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susframe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zia Pina Pizzeria also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Zia Pina Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing