We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great night but”
Review of Wildfire Restaurant Sydney - CLOSED

Wildfire Restaurant Sydney
Price range: $22 - $93
Cuisines: Brazilian, Steakhouse, Australian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Rocks
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great night but”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

great night, lovely waiters, very attentive, but so disappointed in the deserts both of them were so sickly sweet could not eat them and they were so nice to take it off the bill. So the attention is amazing and a great place to go

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cremebrulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    123
    64
    38
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous all round”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Chose this restaurant for a post marathon celebration and it lived up to its reputation.
Booking was easily done on line and they confirmed the booking twice by phone.
On arrival we were given a window seat with a spectacular view of the harbour and had a very attentive waiter.
The menu has something for everyone, with an extensive seafood buffet, Brazilian Grill and regular al a carte.
The dishes we had were excellent and the service swift but not rushed.
It was a Sunday night so the restaurant was not packed.
The prices were not cheap but then you expect this for central Sydney.
Would definitely go there again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travel7310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dissapointing, never again.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Booked 6 weeks in advance for our 25th Anniversary with a request for a table with a view of the harbour, ended up with a nice view and noise of the cash register and kitchen, I had fish which was nice and my wife ordered a lobster which was raw and had to be sent back, the price for the lobster was over $220, On arrival the "great" table was not ready so we had a drink at the bar and was unimpressed that the bar has a practice of taking and keeping your credit card along with a book of others on the counter at the bar, so I got ours back and paid cash,
Be warned the meal for 2 was over $350 without sides or deserts, not even a chip with the fish.
If you eat here be prepared to be treated like a tourist and not a repeat customer..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food, horrendous atmosphere.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant had tables packed in to the point that there was zero ability to have a conversation as the next table had no option but to listen.

My partner and I were celebrating our anniversary and we had a table of 10 people on one side with 4 children playing and running around the table and kept bumping into our table. Not the restaurants fault however the seating arrangements are the restaurants fault and it really felt like a "get em in, get em out" dining experience.

We were so packed in that I couldn't move my seat back to get out to go to the bathroom without having to ask the people seated at the other table to move. Great food and service however the atmosphere was just horrendous and I'll never return based on that alone which is a shame.

Wait staff were friendly and helpful. We had the BBQ and the food was divine but just the atmosphere ruined our anniversary and I felt like I have just thrown $400 in the garbage.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I ate twice in Wildfire during a business trip to Sydney and really enjoyed both visits. The staff were pleasant but not over enthusiastic. Food was superb, some of the best Oysters and Fish i have eaten. Overall a great place to eat

Helpful?
Thank hbfan26
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Wildfire Restaurant Sydney also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing