We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good value, functional setting”
Review of Thainatown

Thainatown
Ranked #1,529 of 5,935 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Thai
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Suburban Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good food, good value, functional setting”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Two of us tried this (May 2013) on the strength of largely favourable reviews on Tripadvisor and a positive notice in Time Out by Melissa Leong. They were right. Elegant decor there's none; it's a functional coffee-shop sort of space. You can see right into the kitchen (which looks clean and efficient!). You get a large menu to choose from, including a number of things that most westerners probably aren't going to try, and a lot of more familiar standards. Since the staff were speaking their language to many of the customers, I'd guess that most customers were Thai, which was a good sign. Meals are served pronto. Helpings are large. Food is tasty. Prices are quite reasonable -- four dinner dishes plus rice were $46 (tax and service included).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    27
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Curlewis, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Tasty meal, lovely flavours”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Shared a meal here with three other work colleagues who had gone there before. Atmosphere is busy and cafe style but we didnt care - the food was fresh, lots of flavour and served quickly. Its BYO, so choose a nice wine to take with you. Very reasonable prices, compared with other places we dined in during the week.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngeM2381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We loved this place”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

A real "local" feel to this restaurant. Food great, well priced and that it was full of Thai people was testament to being pretty authentic.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank takemetotheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced comfort food, but.....”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Thainatown was just a few minutes walk from the Vibe Hotel where I was staying at. The prices were reasonable, the diner was simple and had a nice fuss-free vibe. I had some takeaways for dinner one night (basil chicken and tom yam soup), although the flavours were good, I found the food to be laden with MSG, and was way too greasy for my liking. Wouldn't recommend it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank celestially
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food for little money”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Whenever we're in Sydney we HAVE to go to Thainatown. It hasn't disappointed us yet. The food is very tasty, good sized portions and inexpensive. We've taken several overseas guests there as well and they've all enjoyed it. Service is a little unfriendly but very quick. Excellent place for something quick and cheap and tasty.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cinogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thainatown also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Thainatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing