We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spanish Tapas on a Sunday evening”

Spanish Tapas Restaurant
Reserve with
Spanish Tapas Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,641 of 5,856 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Glebe
Description: Did you know, Spanish Tapas has been serving the people of Glebe and surrounding suburbs for over 18 years! With a capacity of over 300 seats, Spanish Tapas caters for groups of all sizes and parties of all kinds. From humble beginnings, Spanish Tapas very quickly grew a reputation as more than just a Spanish restaurant, but rather a Spanish entertainment venue, with live entertainment and a wonderful Spanish atmosphere. Our Spanish-styled decor, friendly staff and wonderful spanish cuisine gives you the real Spanish experience. Also popular with our guests are our food and drinks packages. Groups can choose which food and drinks package they desire and then enjoy unlimited food and drinks over a period of 2 hours. We welcome you to Spanish Tapas restaurant in Glebe and look forward to entertaining you in the near future.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Spanish Tapas on a Sunday evening”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was our first visit to this restaurant. We had dinner with friends, and were welcomed to choose a table, as it was not busy on the Sunday evening. We asked for BYO, but they did not allow, as they are a fully licensed restaurant. The waitress was very helpful in choosing the right wine and let us taste some. We chose from the tapas menu, and found there was a great selection, one of our friends is a vegetarian and he got plenty of choice as well. Nicest dish we all found the fig and ham special. But all the dishes were tasty and right amount. We ordered one dish they did not serve, but we said that was all right as we were full. For dessert we ordered some of the menu, and 2 of the 4 were not available. After picking 2 other dishes we were told that one of them also was not available, so we had to make a third choice. This was a bit annoying, but the overall experience was still satisfactory.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanetteinAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    37
    32
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice night with friends”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have wanted to visit this place for a while. The food is good, the entertainment is great, the place is noisy, so its a great venue for hens nights, office get together etc....not the place for a quiet romantic evening. I loved the atmosphere when the show started, and I would go back again for a Christmas party. The Spaniards know how to enjoy themselves.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LewishamOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely tapas restaurant complete with entertainment”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Lovely food and a relaxed atmosphere which was exactly what we were looking for. Decor is a little worn but an authentic experience all the same.
Originally we were directed to tables at the back of the restaurant but soon moved forward as atmosphere was better.
The flamenco dancers who rounded off the evening were very good, but be warned they are looking for participants.. We escaped thankfully.
I would definitely recommend and will be going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Slipping standards, food ok, poor service, untruthful”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Poor service ( 3 tapas in 45 mins) paella ( low quality ) in 70 mins, left us feeling this place has dropped it's standards. 300 covers with loud boisterous crowds, hen party's and stag dos made it feel impersonal and a bit chaotic. Young staff struggled with no attention, slow or no drinks and poor waiting skills. Despite the booking no reservation was found and after 20 mins we sat in first free table we could. We returned here due to a prepaid offer for paella and sangria but the owner initially argued for 5 mins that he wouldn't honor it despite email receipt, call record and booking. Intimidatory style to females isn't the best welcome. Saddened as this place was once much better with attentive staff and a genuine Iberian welcome. Worth travelling into Liverpool St in the City for better food and service.

Helpful?
Thank 2010Walkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice food but service leaves a lot to be desired”
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We dined here last night on the spur of the moment and were happy to receive a pleasant table despite having no reservation on a busy Saturday.

Our bread and salad arrived quickly but unfortunately nothing else did. We were given an incorrect dish and the waiter failed to apologize nor (it would seem) chase up with the kitchen to correct the mistake.

We had to enquire about our missing dishes a total of 3 times over the next hour before they finally arrived- again, no apology

Surprise, surprise despite the kitchen apparently losing our order it all appeared on the bill- but this too was incorrect as they'd swapped one of our dishes for a pricier one!

Notwithstanding all this, the food was quite nice and with the warm, authentic atmosphere we still enjoyed the evening. Perhaps service might be better on a midweek evening when they are less busy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ccccooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spanish Tapas Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Spanish Tapas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing