We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice not Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sailors Thai - CLOSED

Sailors Thai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: The Rocks
Description: Established in the early '90s by one of Australia's foremost chefs, Sailors Thai is an iconic Thai restaurant. Local and international regulars as well as first time visitors make their way to Sailors Thai to experience benchmark Thai. Their reputation is for bold but carefully balanced flavours, inspired renditions of classic dishes and "hero" produce in a wonderfully unique setting. Sailors Thai will take you on a Thai food journey, strongly influenced by traditional recipes, hand-made where possible, and enhanced by Australia's exceptional produce.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice not Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We haven't visited Sailors Thai for a few years now and whilst the food is very good, it's not quite the great experience I remembered. I felt that the food lacked some of the intensity of flavour of great Thai food and it certainly didn't blow my socks off.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catbate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    183
    87
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Had dinner with 2 friends. We had the Crispy Pork Belly which was amazing. Another meat dish and some vegetable and rice was plenty for 3 people. We had a bottle of wine between and the price was $115 in total. FYI this was in the canteen upstairs which is more casual and better priced than the more formal dining room downstairs.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MisterMMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Amazing! Amazing! Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

If I could give 6 stars I've would! From arrival to departure you are treated like royalty. The service is impeccable! Then the food starts arriving. I've been to Thailand a couple of times and dined at some of the best restaurants there, and I can tell you sailors Thai is on par! From crispy vegetables to inspiring tastes for every fish served. Truly a remarkable evening! Highly recommend if you like Thai cuisine.

Helpful?
Thank Henk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Neither good or bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner, quite dark inside, just one long metallic table.
Had vegetarian, and food was very spicy. Way to much spicy.

Overall it was neither good nor bad, neither expensive nor cheap.

I do not think I will return there.

Helpful?
Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Has been better .....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have had some great evenings at Sailors Thai before but this recent Friday evening visit was not up to scratch, food and service was off key on the night... .

To finish the evening the payment process automatically calculates a tip and adds it on to the bill for you, very efficient though for some will leave a bitter after taste to the evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KnightInBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sailors Thai also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing