We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sailors Thai - CLOSED

Sailors Thai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: The Rocks
Description: Established in the early '90s by one of Australia's foremost chefs, Sailors Thai is an iconic Thai restaurant. Local and international regulars as well as first time visitors make their way to Sailors Thai to experience benchmark Thai. Their reputation is for bold but carefully balanced flavours, inspired renditions of classic dishes and "hero" produce in a wonderfully unique setting. Sailors Thai will take you on a Thai food journey, strongly influenced by traditional recipes, hand-made where possible, and enhanced by Australia's exceptional produce.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
512 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had a good meal. Not cheap for a Thai restaurant, but if you make the right choice, you will not be dissapointed ! We found the Barramundi Floss a litlle bit weard. We couldn' t find the fish ! It must be very very tiny pieces......

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    183
    87
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, and atmosphere at lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Had the tasting menu - was brilliant. Try to sit (on a nice day) down the back, on the deck.

Fantastic food, service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dannytravels73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yungaburra, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Thai too much!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Celebrating two birthdays, booked into Sailors Restaurant, downstairs....on the deck. Sadly, the rain came in and we were seated inside. Didn't matter, had we been out on the deck our view would have been swamped by the huge ship docked in front of any view. The wait staff were polite, but not listening. We arrived before our guests and were constantly badgered to order despite the reservation made for 4. Wine overpriced, the food was nicely presented, the order was akin to street food with a twist and overpriced, very nice but frankly not worth the $$. A bland dining room with little to interest us, the pillows behind the banquette difficult to control. Sorry Sailors, but with all the choice in town, and a working knowledge of what makes Thai food good - this is nice food at an overdone price - pay for location....view of a ship or a bland wall.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
179 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Average food at a high price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Five of us went for dinner at the canteen upstairs.
It has a long table that you share with other diners. The place was very busy but we got a seat after a short wait. The restaurant is extremely noisy, so conversation is difficult. The food came quickly and it was good. We ordered 5 different dishes, which came to $ 160, which is quite pricey.
If you like Thai food it is worth a try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dustymiller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fab Thai Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Sailors Thai is unusual and set in one of Sydney's oldest buildings in the Rocks Area. It was a place the sailors could come to sleep and not get robbed or drugged and put on another ship in the 1800's. if you are lucky enough to get one of the small tables on the balcony..... Enjoy the sights of Sydney. Food is unbelievable. My guest said it was the best Pad Thai she had ever had. You can book for the restaurant downstairs, or sit at the long table in the canteen. Try for the balcony!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goldilocksSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sailors Thai also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing