We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hanoi Hunger High”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Lantern - CLOSED

Red Lantern
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Surry Hills
Katanning Western Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hanoi Hunger High”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Visiting Sydney from WA for 2 days to see Lion King, we decided to eat out at Red Lantern Crown Street and were not disappointed. Food was great, service exceptional by "Tim" - he explained the whole menu, advised that there would be a break after 4 dishes before the next 4 came out, made an exceptional not on the wine list cocktail "Lemon Lick" and was constantly attentive, filling our water glasses the minute they emptied and kept the table tidy. Ask for Tim when you visit this restaurant!! Toilet not very convenient (have to walk through the kitchen) and basic but that is minor.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank camnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    75
    35
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Set menu VERY expensive and not filling”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

This place was a rort! We paid $70 for a set menu dinner and all the guys who were with us left hungry, there were 10 of us and they only brought out 2 small bowls of each meal for us to share! must admit the food was really nice but only go if you dont mind spending the money - also, the cheapest bottle of wine was $45 - service was ordinary as well, the main waiter was not very friendly

Helpful?
1 Thank JazzzSay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Takes Vietnamese food to a new level!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I have had the privilege of visiting Vietnam & ate at all levels whilst in the country( street food to high end). My supper at Red Lantern was superb !!!! We had the Hanoi Hunger which was pretty good value given how expensive Sydney is generally .
The flavor combinations were brilliant & the presentation was lovely. The staff were very attentive but not obsequious & the place had a nice buzzy vibe not too reverential like some fine dining experiences.
My only gripe is that all diners on the same table MUST choose the tasting menu otherwise nobody can have it. Whilst I appreciate that is to avoid cheap sakes who would order one between two I do wonder if they could relax that a bit and say that if a diner is not having tasting menu then they will be billed a minimum of $85 dollars which they spend on bespoke all carte menu.
I'm going to buy the cook book not that I'm ever likely to try & replicate the recipes but to remember a great night & have something to drool over!!!!!
Many thanks Red Lantern for a superb meal

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoannaAndCaitlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Go for the Hanoi Hunger...a great sampler”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We went with a group of friends in the Christmas and New Years break.

Positives.....the food is the best Vietnamese I've eaten since holiday in Vietnam. It was lacking the addition of the fresh herbs you get in Vietnam, but otherwise flavours were delicately balanced, the quality of ingredients high, and serving sizes just right. The Hanoi Hunger gets you a taste of 8 dishes, which is great. They also have many gluten free options which is good.

Service was great, prompt and friendly.

Negatives....wine a bit expensive so we opted for the house wines. They were good, and you don't come here for the wine anyway! The toilets weren't as clean as they could have been.

Overall I would jump at the chance to eat here again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahNZ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could well be my favourite restaurant in Sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I've been to Red Lantern twice now and both times the food and service were excellent. The staff are very friendly and attentive and rarely do you find such good service. I'm looking forward to trying the new(ish) restaurant on Riley Street too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annacathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lantern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing