We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Vietnamese at Red Lantern” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lantern - CLOSED

Red Lantern
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Surry Hills
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious Vietnamese at Red Lantern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Some friends and I visited Red Lantern in August for dinner. We booked about a month before and the initial time I wanted wasnt available. So make sure you book at least a month before especially if you want to go on the weekend. We got the $65 tasting menu + $10 for the dessert platter. The serving sizes for the tasting menu were small but you get so many different dishes which was more than enough. In my opinion the tasting menu was really good value. the dessert was one of the best desserts I have ever tasted, especially the sticky rice. Other items on the normal menu looked a bit pricey, but I would be prepared to pay as the food was very good.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    75
    35
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We booked 2 months ahead. The meals fell far short to our expectation after seeing all his tv shows. The first drinks and start of the meal came together and drinks service was slow. Our food waitress was fine but the duty manager was rude. The compulsory 10% gratuity charge for 6 or more people as stated on the menu leaves you no option to express your opinion. There is much better value and tastes to be found elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilyh2361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Charming, friendly and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Had a great Lunch at Luke Nguyen's beautiful and charming restaurant: the Vietnamese food has a modern spin to it, but it's still delicious. Great ambiance and fantastically attentive staff, especially Imelda.
Pudding was beautifully presented and so good and Imelda even put a sparkler on it and offered us a glass of sparkling wine for our friend's birthday: wonderful service.
Luke Nguyen even had pictures taken with us and signed his recipe books for us. Thank you.
Tip: It's always booked up for dinner, but at lunch it's easier to get a table.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyGio69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed - felt rushed out of there!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Friends booked us in at this restaurant as a gift. We had looked at their website and decided we would go for the $80 per person degustation menu. Our booking was for 6-8pm. When we got there we were told we could only have the $65 degustation menu as it would take too long to serve the other and we had to vacate our table for the next sitting. So the first 3 items on the menu arrived all together. Before we finished those, another item arrived. We had hardly finished those and the next 2 items arrived and then the final 2. By this time only 45 minutes had elapsed and we were well and truly feeling rushed. We had ordered dessert at this arrived very soon after. All in all, we were back on the street in just over 1 hour. It wasn't quite the experience we were expecting. While they use best quality ingredients, I think I would prefer to go to Cabramatta and dine for half the cost.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mar1ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“lovely vietnamese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

It was an amazing experiece .The ambience and service is fantastic.We ordered 2 entrees , salt and chilli squid and rice paper rolls.Both serves were huge for entres and the best we had ever tasted including our trip to Vietnam.we had ordered a main but was to full with the size of the entree so they allowed us to canx main and order another entree instead.We had the rice cakes with pork floss was devine.All washed down with some lovely 333 beer.Very well priced considering the size of the entrees and quality.highly recommend.if we are in town next time we will detour to this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NoodlesNilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lantern also viewed

 
North Strathfield, Sydney
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing