We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“meety mood:satisfied!”

Prime Steak Restaurant
Ranked #64 of 5,939 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $98
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Voted Australia's Best Steak Restaurant for the past 13 consecutive years; Prime offers a first-class dining experience. With New York style interiors, heritage listed sandstone & our exceptional sommelier on hand - Prime is the ideal venue for the most discerning client whether it be for a private event for 10 or 130 guests. Prime offers 18 premier steaks including Wagyu, Black Angus and Hereford Yearlings ideal for steak lovers, but also offers a variety of seafood, poultry and vegetarian dishes. Its exceptional staff and expert sommelier are on hand to assist you with your food and wine selections. Through its cool, timeless, elegant interior and attention to detail Prime is the ideal location for lunch, dinner or a private function.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“meety mood:satisfied!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

that it exactly what I wanted to have for dinner: meat!!
this place is all about meat, so don't come here if you are vegetarian, because they don't have anything on menu to make you happy, and the chefs won't be happy with your request!
now...let's talk about the protagonist, mr meat!
they have here a huge variety of different cuts and beefs, if you are unsure, just ask to one of the waiters...yes, only men working here!
you can choose between an easytofind cut of beef, or something more rare and extravagant, but you can be sure you won't be disappointed!everything tasted very good, we also had some scallops as entre and they were pretty good too...but I still think you should be focused on the main actor playing in the restaurant!
there is an extensive and diversified wine list, so you can match you dinner perfectly...if in trouble, just call the sommelier over, he'll help you out happily!
and if you want something more private, you can request one of the "hollow" table in the wall, on each side of the bar!
The place is also perfect for a romantic dinner, and during the good time you'll be having, you'll forget about the thing that you are seated few meters under the ground!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eatAbility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    71
    32
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Best Special Occasion Venue”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Went to Prime again last night for a birthday. This was the second time we have done this and certainly wont be the last. There were 4 of us and the service was nothing short of exceptional. The waiters were very attentive and happy to explain our plethora of questions. They talked us through all the styles of cuts and flavour profiles. I was very impressed with their knowledge.

We all had the pork belly entree (perfect size) followed by steaks. The grassfed looked amazing! Although the rest of ours were fantastic too. The sauces were exceptional and even though we couldn't eat anymore we ended up ordering a mousse for desert which was so complex but worked beautifully. The waiter even brought out a candle lit chocolate for the birthday boy.

While it definitely isn't on the lower end of the affordability scale its my go to for any special occasion in an intimate setting and I would recommend Prime to anyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrabri, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our latest visit was our 5th visit to Prime Restaurant. Originally we found it quite by accident and it is difficult to find, but boy what a find! Negotiating the open bar area to get to the front door can be like peak hour traffic. We chose this restaurant as we are steak eaters and are fussy with how it is cooked. We are not the type of diners who choose dishes that are so complicated that you can't tell what you are eating. At Prime we have never been disappointed. Our main order is the Angus fillet and each time it has been cooked to perfection. The red wine jus is to die for and if it was served at home I would lick the bowl clean. Be prepared to wait for your meal, as to cook a good steak, it does take a little longer. The service was excellent and attention to detail was appreciated. Not many places crumb down after the main course. The wine list was expensive but good advice can be obtained from the sommelier and the house wines were quite pleasant. The meals are portioned well and the sides beautifully cooked and presented. We have enjoyed many desserts and wish that the deconstructed lemon meringue tart would reappear on the menu. The desserts are a real treat and are presented with style. The staff are attentive and are quick to attend to your needs often without being intrusive to your dining experience. They were happy to engage in conversation if you initiated it and were knowledgeable about the menu items. We don't often tip but this is one place were we were happy to do so. We have taken our three older children there to have the experience of dining at a top quality restaurant. It was an experience they will never forget. I love the fact that you wont be competing with large, rowdy groups and the atmosphere is private and intimate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark2390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Food amazing, great setup but staff attitude was poor and majority staff looked like they didn't want be working let alone serve us but food was worth the poor service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ji7683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Signature restaurant at Sydney Westin Hotel”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a very expensive -- but wonderful -- high end restaurant on the lower ground floor level of the Sydney Westin Hotel. It's a little hard to find, is not well signposted, and is only accessible through a not-too-inviting open bar area. However, once inside, the decor, service and food are world class.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prime Steak Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Prime Steak Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing