We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“You may for the location!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nick's Seafood Restaurant

Nick's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #200 of 5,739 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $23 - $113
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Nick's Seafood Restaurant has become somewhat of a Sydney institution over the last decade since opening its doors in 1998. With Nick's years of experience in the seafood wholesale business, it does not surprise anyone that Nick's Seafood Restaurant is the leader in fresh and high quality seafood produce in Sydney. Everyday our produce is carefully sourced by our group of expert buyers at the Sydney Fish Markets. The menu contains an array of fresh fish, oysters, crustaceans and lobsters. Our chef's enhance the flavours, with the food showcasing natural flavours and simplicity. Overlooking the shores of Cockle Bay and Darling Harbour, Nick's Seafood Restaurant has all that a delectable seafood dining experience should.... Fresh seafood, professional service with breathtaking panoramic oceans views of Darling Harbour.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
349 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“You may for the location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

The wait staff were very haughty and did not make us feel welcomed at all ~ but we were hungry so stayed! The location is great though - we were able to glimpse views of the 'Vivid' light and water show as well as the free fireworks.
The food was good, I had the tuna steak and most of it was cooked perfectly with about a quarter being inedible. The risotto was creamy and tasty and the fish fillets were alright. It is way overpriced for the food served - but I think you are paying for the location and some of the staff don't seem to really care whether you are taken care of at all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    390
    192
    122
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Level Contributor
349 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Service was a bit cold but prompt. Setting is amazing. Food was generally lovely. A great view of the fireworks!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This restaurant was one of my favourites,located right on Darling Harbour but lived off it's reputation for too long. Had a poor experience where we paid a lot of money for a seafood platter and walked away disappointedf. Haven't been back.

Helpful?
Thank crazyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch n.z.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sydney holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

One of the many quality eaterys on Darling harbour Kings Street wharf and the seafood is delicious would recommend to all lovers of seafood.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ianancoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice but not amazing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Went there on a packed sunday lunch. Everyone in the place seemed to be ordering this famous platter which is basically a huge mountain of seafood (a lot of which is deep fried).

We ordered scallops to start which were lovely. For our mains we went with goats cheese salad and surf and turf for my boyfriend. The salad (admittedly was supposed to be a starter) was a little too simple, literally three ingredients went into it, goats cheese, salad and figs. I actually ordered some avocado to add a bit more flavour but still didnt blow me away. My boyfriend had the surf and turf and was very disappointed. Steak, two grilled prawns and chips in a bowl. It was just so dry! They had a mayonaise like sauce on the side but it did little. I think this meal was a little lacking in any type of sauces or garnish...or something!

As I said the food was nice but not amazing. Maybe we happened to choose the wrong meals for the day. The staff were lovely and we were very well taken care of which was reflected in the tip i left.

Would I go again? Probably not. But it was nice all the same.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ker_schnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Nick's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing