We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy veggie customers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mother Chu's Vegetarian Kitchen

Mother Chu's Vegetarian Kitchen
Ranked #1,007 of 5,822 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very happy veggie customers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Very much a family feel in this place, which suited us to a tea. Very quick and friendly service. Food tasted fresh and made with love. Our kids adored the fried rice, and delicious banana fritters with HOMEMADE vegan mango icecream. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Georgi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    37
    21
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Roma
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Vegegood!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Nice place right in the centre of the city!
Large portions and very good prices! On of my favourite places in the city!
It doesn't matter if you are a vegetarian or not, actually I'm not, you will enjoy it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Food good, service not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Ate here again on a recent trip to Sydney. The food was great as usual (a vegetarian's dream) however the service was sorely lacking. I was left waiting inside the door without acknowledgement for a couple of minutes before I was seated. After being seated, I was ignored for 5 minutes - I had to flag down a waitress in order to even have a menu given to me. Then I had to wait more for a waitress to take my order. I had to remind them twice to bring me some water. The staff were pleasant but they were clearly under-staffed and should consider putting on more waitresses during peak periods.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank missjess85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Warm vegetarian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

I always happy coming out from this rest. First, knowing I spend my dollar wt non cruelty foods, secondly the ppl here are so welcoming, warm n kind hearted. Fav dishes are crispy soy roll wt chilli sauce or the sweet sour sauce, tofu wt 2 kinds of mushroom and our latest visit tried the soy pop wt mushroom in black pepper sauce. Happy customer.

Helpful?
Thank lifeinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

lots of choice - food can be spicy (I ordered the gluten kung pao which was very hot indeed). Décor inside is old and a bit run down so don't go there expecting a gourmet experience, but seems to be a family run place and food was good value and authentic.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ste_ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother Chu's Vegetarian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mother Chu's Vegetarian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing