We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing Vege Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mother Chu's Vegetarian Kitchen

Mother Chu's Vegetarian Kitchen
Ranked #790 of 5,630 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Vege Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I was here for the food - so I sucked up the lack of service (they don't seemed trained) but the staff are friendly and come over at the wave of a hand.
The menu is huge and so hard to decide what to get. Great choice! I can't wait to come back and try more!
Honestly, the food came out hot, BIG and smelling amazing. I was in serious Vege heaven.
I chose a baked clay pot dish, and my friend chose a crispy Soy nugget dish (delicious!!!)
I suggest sharing a few with Rice amongst friends as there is so much, and the jealousy factor of other people's choices is immense :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    33
    18
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Delicious veggie food in the heart of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a delicious meal at Mother Chu's whilst on holiday in Sydney. There are a good selection of Chinese vegetarian dishes on the menu and I believe there is no MSG used in any of them. We ordered steamed rice and a couple of vegetable and tofu dishes. The portions are generous and we left very satisfied. A good find!

Helpful?
Thank neilmadhvani
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very average vegeterian food, english language is a challenge”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

- Food cooking style is very vietnamese. Bland and boring
- Just 2 of them serving a full restaurant makes it very difficult to get service and their attention. Only one person in the restaurant understands english properly which makes things difficult

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank eagerAmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch or dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent chinese vegetarian food.
Service is good and the food is amazing. We had a number of dishes, each one was perfect. And mother chu is still there, sitting in the back. Strongly recommend!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mystic18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quantity and Quality in a Low-Key Environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hefty portions of well-prepared, authentic ingredients (varieties of tree fungus, mushrooms), including protein substitutes (tofu, seiten), prepared and coated with just enough well-seasoned sauces. I particularly like that the one dish I selected with fried tofu nuggets came healthfully balanced out with steamed, rather than stir-fried, eggplant, thus cutting down on fat-consumption and 'lightening' the meal overall.

This is one of those store-front restaurants, with posters and colored lanterns decorating a clean and attractive but otherwise bare-bone restaurant--just tables and chairs, no statuary, plants, or other architectural decor. So one can walk in comfortably in the same clothes used for the day's sightseeing and be served promptly and conveniently. Not fancy--but a place worth visiting for the variety of offerings and the (for Sydney) reasonable prices for the quantity and quality of vegetarian offerings.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother Chu's Vegetarian Kitchen also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Mother Chu's Vegetarian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing