We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary service, food aplenty”
Review of The Meat & Wine Co - CLOSED

The Meat & Wine Co
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Extraordinary service, food aplenty”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I recently took a group to Meat and Wine Co Darling Harbour Sydney. The service was exceptional with our waiter (Gareth) extremely well informed regarding types of beef cuts, wines and cocktails and indeed even the history of food and drinks in general. I would highly recommend this to any group. Great work guys.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    322
    114
    47
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing - I cannot fault this place at all!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Where do you start. The food was divine!! Meat cooked perfect, sides cooked perfect, the view was lovely and the service amazing. I cannot fault them. We are real foodies and we were quite pelased with everything. Even the pooring of our drinks was to perfect. The waiter poured our beers, he never leant over us and turn the branding on the bottle to face us. Now this is perfect service. The waiters were so polite. Yes it is a little pricey, but well worth it!! They have thought of everything, even the beautiful bib that you wear when you eat ribs. I was pleasantly surprised. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anezoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddington, NSW Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

It is Darling Harbour, any place you eat here is going to be pricey. However, moving past this, I've eaten here twice, and both times been very happy with the quality of the meat and the meals. Steak is pretty much my favourite food, and I'm picky about my steaks. This place is Very Good. The only other competitor in the space Meat & Wine Co occupies (outside high end steak joints like Gaucho Grill which is an Argentinian Steak House in Stanley St) is Hurricanes, and they're both basically comparable. I've mates who prefer Meat & Wine Co, personally, I prefer Hurricanes.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Platinumgrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great dinner in darling harbour”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Me and my partner had dinner here about 3 times last year and all I can say it's beautiful tasty food generous servings, excellent presentation and lots of choices . The wine menu is excellent and cater to all budgets. Really if you looking for a decent place to eat in darling harbour you won't be disappointed, a very good alternative for SYdneysiders from all tourist orientated restaurants in darling harbour.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and fireworks too”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went to this restaurant on the recommendation of the concierge and were not disappointed. My daughter and I ordered the speciality of the house came with cream spinach and au gratin potatoes. My husband had mother cut of meat that was equally fantastic. Our meat was so tender aNd delicious. One of the best meals we have eve had. In addition, there was a fantastic fireworks display and we had a prime location.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Meat & Wine Co also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing