We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Austere and idiosyncratic, be prepared to drink the kool-aid!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marque

Marque
4/5 355 Crown Street | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Surry Hills)
61293322225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,187 of 4,984 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $35 - $116
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Surry Hills
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Austere and idiosyncratic, be prepared to drink the kool-aid!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We first ate at Marque fifteen years ago and Mark Bests singular fine diner remains an unusual dining experience, both more and less than one expects. The food theory and flavour combinations are clearly complex but the presentation is overtly simple to the point of plain, with several of the degustation dishes on our recent visit appearing at first glance ( and sometimes at second and third taste) to be essentially purees with molecular wafers. While undoubtedly clever and complex, some of the flavour combinations and textures didn't seem complimentary to us and the portion sizes of the meat dishes, while exquisite to taste are small enough to incite regret. Wait staff were polite but hushed and a little over reverent, and given that the menu is not presented in printed form till the conclusion of the meal we had to have some of the dishes explained several times to us. Marque is certainly a special occasion restaurant, and not for everyone. One has to admire the commitment to Mark's vision and style, but it may be another fifteen years before we can submit to it again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank POPs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Interesting and worthwhile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

As a foodie with a limited budget, I really appreciated the Prix Fixe Friday lunch menu at Marque, which would normally be a prohibitively priced restaurant for me.
They certainly do not skimp as we were treated to three courses as well as amuse bouche and apres dessert - so that's good. The staff is friendly and the informal lunch atmosphere was aided by some rock and roll playing overhead which I doubt would have been on at dinner time.
I will take the time to note a few things that could have gone better, however.
First of all, it is not the restaurant's fault but I think the lower price brought in all the tourists in the worst possible way. Every table but ours had someone playing with their smart phone or even talking on it... it was very distracting and certainly not what I would expect at a restaurant at this level. The couple next to us kept asking the different servers (who were very polite) to snap their picture. I would make it a rule that phones are to be kept put away while eating... can you do that?
Now, the food. Amuse was a walnut mousse with a nettle sauce - cute. The app was an amazingly delicate salad of calamari, broccoli, and horseradish. Very tasty although the calamari were certainly not the stars of the dish.
The main was pork neck cooked sous vide...tender, tasty and yummy.
The first sweet was a chocolate roulade which was so dry!! The amount of bitter cocoa on it really made it hard to swallow. Although I viewed it as a transition dish between the savory and very sweet to come.
The last dish was the best - their signature Sauternes custard. What can I say.. flawless! So many layers of flavour that just went on and on.
All in all, a good experience which could have been great if there were not so many rude people around. I guess that in the evenings, when paying full price, the ambience is different.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank monicalups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Innovative menu!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Marque is best for the food and service! The 8 course meal was innovative and delicious. Service was wonderful. They don't reveal what you're going to eat till the food is served in front of you. Lovely surprises! You do get a take home menu at the end of the meal.

Though food was great, I think it was a bit over-priced.

Another issue is the background music - didn't seem to fit it with the atmosphere.

Ticked off the 'must-eat' list - don't think I'll be returning to this one.. But if you haven't eaten here before, may be worthwhile.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Prisca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had an excellent time. The menu was innovative & fun. Service was excellent. Food was great. Thank you.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wide of the Marque”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My friend and I went to Marque to celebrate her birthday. She was looking forward to having a celebratory glass of French champagne which is all she drinks, but there was none on the wine list. When we arrived the rocky music was so loud we couldn't hear each other - most inappropriate for the style of restaurant. The waiter obligingly turned down the volume. The air conditioning was freezing, particularly if one were sitting underneath the vent as was my friend. The waiter obliged again by changing the setting. The food was interesting, what we could see of it, but hardly memorable. Too expensive and disappointing for a restaurant where one has to book weeks ahead. It certainly doesn't live up to its reputation as being one of Sydney's best.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doctortrish47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marque also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Marque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing