We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best Food, best Service, best Partytime!!!”
Review of Lowenbrau Keller - CLOSED

Lowenbrau Keller
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Rocks
Description: Housed in a stone, heritage-listed building, in the heart of The Rocks, Munich Brauhaus is the place to be if you're looking for a range of thirst quenching (unpronounceable) Bavarian craft beers. This historic venue has had a makeover, morphing into a refreshed, more modern version of its former self - meaning the haus party just got bigger and better! While there is a strong emphasis on beer, the authentic Bavarian style menu also sets tongues wagging. The Munich-style restaurant and bar will transport you straight to Germany with their traditional dishes and female waiters dressed in traditional Dirndl dresses (settle down boys, we know you're excited!). Famed for its stellar selection of hand-crafted burgers and haus-made hot dogs, this venue has all the key ingredients to draw a crowd - and has no trouble doing so - night, after night, after night. Prost!
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“best Food, best Service, best Partytime!!!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

the best time we had in Australia was at Lowenbrau in the heart of Sydney! Food & beer were really typical bavarian, weather was absolutely australian ;-) and the Service was perfect: nice, funny and absolutely lovely! They made my day!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    307
    139
    64
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's better to avoid...”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

They're not customer focused. Brought different food ( of course the more expensive one) than ordered. Added a $2 "donation" to the bill that I didn't ask for and was not indicated on the menu... They have a nice food but it's really disgusting that they "rob" you with $9 on a $45 order... I highly recommend you to avoid this place...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NZAbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great atmosphere, authentic good food and best German beer”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Being a German living abroad we are all craving authentic good German food, beers and a nice Riesling from time to time - the Lowenbrau has it all plus super friendly staff that make the experience even more fun! I have been there a few times - with friends and even for business meetings... It's been always a good restaurant experience... Even seems as if the menu offers more variety and it's worth checking out new dishes. Love the Sausages and Sauerkraut ;)
Worth a visit!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita1345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“where do you start? how about the ooompah band...”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We went there for a team dinner, 14 of us for a reserved table. They had a 12 seat table, a walkway between us, and 2 seats on another huge bench table. We asked if we could sit together. No, we couldn't because they need the walkway clear. There were longer tables than the one they gave us, but we had to live with crowding around a smaller one because we didn't want to leave 2 people out of the team dinner.
Food was ordinary - pretzels cost quite a lot for entrée at $4 each, when you can buy them at the bakery in the Wynyard tunnel for $2.50, and they make a profit so imagine the profit in the Lownenbrau. I got sausages which weren't bad, but certainly not worth the price with a tiny pile of mash and handful of peas.
Then the oompah band. Oh my God. We were seated right in front of the stage, and I mean RIGHT in front of the stage. It was deafening and each song went for what seemed like forever. All with the same beat and same sound and just loud. End of any talking. End of any anything. We all finished up and got out of there and went to a pub in the Rocks to continue.
no split bills.
very expensive
awkward seating
loud
very ordinary food for the cost.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Group of 13 of us wanted to have a good get together and celebrate oktoberfest over some nice beers, was appalled at the level of service universally provided at this restaurant. We were made to have the standard set menu due to our group size (the restaurant was not even half full), I do not understand why this has to be case as a restaurant of this size should be able to cater for a group of 13 easily. My friend politely asked a waitress for our water jug to be refilled, in return she got a hand to her face indicating she was busy and never returned. Ordering drinks at the bar involved extended waiting and was served by bartenders that seemed uninterested and disengaged (Mr Oktoberfest I am talking about you). I have previously been this place several times and it has always been pleasant. Its one of those situations that everyone on the table was disappointed/ disgruntled, however as service was universally bad and no one really cared about the customers that we did not bother to complain.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lowenbrau Keller also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing