We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pork is amazing”
Review of Longrain

Longrain
Ranked #130 of 5,862 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $76
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Surry Hills
Description: Longrain Sydney is located at 85 Commonwealth St in Surry Hills. Inspired by the communal eating philosophy of the Asian table, our menu is made up of dishes created for sharing. Longrain's menu has evolved from Martin Boetz's original Longrain vision, bringing South East Asian influences to carefully sourced ingredients with fresh, zingy flavours. His vibrant menu is carefully balanced with wines and cocktails chosen by restaurateur Sam Christie. Our long, shared tables encourage the spirit of eating together, so you can try each dish as part of a full tasting experience, just as it was intended (limited reservations available). Book one of our individual tables for parties between 6 - 10 people; or Private Dining Room for 12-18 guests.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pork is amazing”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Large servings, really great flavours and really amazing sweet, sticky pork best eaten with boiled rice! You'll be thinking of it now and then, just wanting to have another taste!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank IBeAwSm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    201
    69
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely disgusted”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

After meeting a group of friends there (Wednesday night) we were seated and then left alone, really alone. I had to call a waiter over for some service, he took our drinks order then the same thing we were ignored and ignored and ignored. Again I had to call a waiter to ask where our drinks were and could we possible see a menu. Our drinks finally arrived along with a menu and were disgusted at the extremely high prices even the banquet being $65 pp. After another 25 minutes passed although it didn't seem that long as the five rug rats at the next table were keeping us entertained by throwing food all over the place(at least they had some I was tempted to ask for some). The waiter finally fronts again to take our order and basically told us that if you order seperate meals you will have to wait 45 minutes, or you can order the banquet and be served quickly. Its at this stage I was ready to leave but being with friends I decided to persist with this debarkle. My disgust with this establishment quickly regained momentum downwards as they served one dozen oysters for 10 people, this food size serving debarkle continued and we left. Not once did anyone ask how our food was, whether we needed more drinks, not even a 'good evening. as we left this joke of a restaurant. As long as my feet point downwards I will never step foot in that place and make it my mission to educate as many other people as I can.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

A group of 4 of us went to Longrain on a Saturday night the wait was almost 2 hours but it was peak time and raining so no one was moving quickly. We set up in the bar downstairs and managed to eat a number of the entrees from the main restaurant as bar snacks. When we eventually did get up to the restaurant we had extremely helpful wait staff they assisted us in choosing 4 dishes which weren't necessarily intuitive to us. Highlight was a red curry salmon dish which we were a little apprehensive of but was done superbly. Clearly wouldn't go hear if time is critical to you but if you're looking to enjoy some creative food in a relaxed environment wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Vegan food!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Go for the salt and pepper tofu and beatle leaves.

We dine here at least once every three weeks.

You won't have to wait for a table if you go during a week day. Weekends are busy and you can edit up to 2 hours.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmilyFijiLomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Thai food wasted by aloof maitre d'”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had been to Longrain before, enjoyed the food so were looking forward to returning. We knew that the restaurant didn't take bookings and expected to wait. However, there were plenty of spare seats when we arrived at 9 pm and were told that the wait was up to an hour and 15 minutes. We were sent downstairs to the holding area which seems to be a ruse to get you to spend more money on expensive cocktails and tapas (be warned, drinks orders take 20 mins to arrive here). The waiting staff didn't know who had ordered what and often wandered around aimlessly with food and drink whilst the maitre d' swanned around selecting who was the next lucky customer to be offered a table upstairs. When our turn did eventually arrived (at the predicted time) we were made to feel like we'd won the lottery and were escorted upstairs to a half empty restaurant. The food was delicious (we had the salmon red curry) but there is a culture of snobbery amongst the waiting staff. We left feeling frustrated and poorly treated. We have no idea why this place is so popular.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidmoffat1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longrain also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Longrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing