We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute must...”
Review of Longrain

Longrain
Ranked #107 of 5,944 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $79
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Surry Hills
Description: Longrain Sydney is located at 85 Commonwealth St in Surry Hills. Inspired by the communal eating philosophy of the Asian table, our menu is made up of dishes created for sharing. Longrain's menu has evolved from Martin Boetz's original Longrain vision, bringing South East Asian influences to carefully sourced ingredients with fresh, zingy flavours. His vibrant menu is carefully balanced with wines and cocktails chosen by restaurateur Sam Christie. Our long, shared tables encourage the spirit of eating together, so you can try each dish as part of a full tasting experience, just as it was intended (limited reservations available). Book one of our individual tables for parties between 6 - 10 people; or Private Dining Room for 12-18 guests.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An absolute must...”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Absolutely divine food.

Wait staff are great and very accommodating.

I do prefer the Melbourne one though as restaurant has a better lay out. Sydney one is split with the bar downstairs and restaurant upstairs which resulted in a lack of ambience.

However, I will always dine here due to the food! So fresh!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ana201179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    204
    71
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pick your time”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had heard a lot about the queues here so arrived at 5.30PM as the doors opened (we were going on to a show). The service was excellent as were the cocktails and food. We shared the barramundi and the tofu, there was more than enough for us both, and the sticky rice and tapioca which we didn't share as why share your desert! its not cheap, but certainly worth it.

By the time we left, at 7.00PM its was almost full. Understandably.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gooner51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Tequila Cocktail and desserts”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Bar underneath is where we hung out with some funky tunes and the most delicious dessert. The chilli tequila cocktail was perfectly balanced. My kind of place to end the night!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KellyBanachek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The people watching at this restaurant (and the incredible cocktail menu) would make this place worth a visit even if the food and service were bad. Which they are not. The food is very expensive, and the menu isn't great for vegetarians (although I highly recommend the salt and pepper tofu -- that was really great), but they did make an effort to accommodate me. My friend, however, really preferred the meat and shellfish dishes she's had on other visits.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMS18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious high class Thai food”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Everything was delicious here. I know Sydney is very expensive but this was even more so than expected. I'd say it's more of fine dining prices than just an average night out. But everything was really great, the eggnet was good, veggies, curry, and chicken were all fantastic. The crab leaf entree was fresh and refreshing and the silk tofu was delicious. Wines start at $43 which was more expensive than I'm used to but I enjoyed our bottle. It was a busy Sunday night but service was quite slow. Would come here for a fun and relaxed evening but know that it's pricier than your average meal.

Helpful?
Thank beachbum082
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Longrain also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Longrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing