We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Thai”
Review of Longrain

Longrain
Ranked #121 of 5,843 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $75
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Surry Hills
Description: Longrain Sydney is located at 85 Commonwealth St in Surry Hills. Inspired by the communal eating philosophy of the Asian table, our menu is made up of dishes created for sharing. Longrain's menu has evolved from Martin Boetz's original Longrain vision, bringing South East Asian influences to carefully sourced ingredients with fresh, zingy flavours. His vibrant menu is carefully balanced with wines and cocktails chosen by restaurateur Sam Christie. Our long, shared tables encourage the spirit of eating together, so you can try each dish as part of a full tasting experience, just as it was intended (limited reservations available). Book one of our individual tables for parties between 6 - 10 people; or Private Dining Room for 12-18 guests.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Went to this truly amazing Thai restaurant and had a very nice experience. The whole evening from start to finish was faultless.
The service was perfect and understated, the food was simply Devine.
This Thai restaurant in surry hills has to be one of the best in sydney
If you are looking for a very special Thai experience I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    200
    69
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Overhyped restaurant. Food is good but not outstanding.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Had our anniversary dinner on August 2013.

Food was good but did not get wow'ed.

Service was too casual and not professional enough.

Did not like the shared tables.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rleyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

With such a variety of great Thai options in this city, it takes something truly outstanding to justify the reputation that Longrain has forged over its long existence. Longrain achieves this through great food that is unique, as well as a variety of cocktails and drinks that elevates it amongst its peers. One downer is service can be a little bit cold at times.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Nice inner city Sydney Surry Hills restaurant. It was recommended by one of our group. The team managed to fit us in at very short notice which I have to say is a sort of miracle in a quality restaurant these days (thanks team). We had a banquet which was an easy intro to the place without getting hung up on the menu choice. The food is an interesting mix of almost 'home style' Asian food and very well executed haute cuisine. The service was excellent and to be honest there was almost too much food by the time we had finished. The pick for most us was the caramelised pork although there was a long line of very good food. The space is quite open and can be a little on the noisy side if you want to talk. A vey good nite out... :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sn0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manukau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not disappointed!!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

After experiencing Longrain Melbourne earlier this year and having one of the best meal experiences ever, I was worried Longrain Sydney might not measure up... Needn't have worried! As a group of 15 we were given a private room (without requesting it) and it was perfect, had the banquet and all of the food was totally amazing, the service second to none. The separate bar was perfect for a pre-dinner drink too, as we arrived earlier than expected into the city. Totally amazing food that makes you go wow with every dish!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Powell61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longrain also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Longrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing