We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Longrain

Longrain
85 Commonwealth St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Surry Hills)
+61 2 9280 2888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 4,984 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $70
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Surry Hills
Description: Longrain Sydney is located at 85 Commonwealth St in Surry Hills. Inspired by the communal eating philosophy of the Asian table, our menu is made up of dishes created for sharing. Longrain's menu has evolved from Martin Boetz's original Longrain vision, bringing South East Asian influences to carefully sourced ingredients with fresh, zingy flavours. His vibrant menu is carefully balanced with wines and cocktails chosen by restaurateur Sam Christie. Our long, shared tables encourage the spirit of eating together, so you can try each dish as part of a full tasting experience, just as it was intended (limited reservations available). Book one of our individual tables for parties between 6 - 10 people; or Private Dining Room for 12-18 guests.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Although you can't book we've only been early in the week and haven't had trouble getting a table. There's a great bar downstairs to wait in though if there's nothing available.
The food is delicious - the highlights for us the filled eggnet and the silken tofu... not usually a fan of tofu but this is amazing. Service good but not great.... Definitely we'll come again...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carowilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“clean clear flavours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Professional staff, wonderful space. A sydney classic. Deserts are worth saving some room for. Tip - if there are 3 or 4 of you dont sit at the big communal tables - they are too wide to talk across without yelling. Ask for the tables in the old bar area on the left.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Go to Cockle Bay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Food took a long time, this is a big problem as we had only a 2 hour allocated time limit. Food and service was average considering pricing was of high end. I don't mind paying high end prices, but I expect high end food and service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank borg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best food ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This restaurant is by far my favourite restaurant in the world. I have dined here with work colleagues multiple times, my teenage son, and by myself; and every visit has been a memorable one. I cannot speak highly enough of this place. I tell everyone I can that they need to try Longrain, and everyone I know who has, comes back to me with the same reaction, they LOVED it. I always look forward to my next visit to Sydney (I live in Perth)
Red Dragon cocktail is sensational!! Egg Net Salad is addictive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ozeire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Loved this restaurant. Started our evening in the cool cocktail lounge downstairs, drinks were delicious and service attentive. Dinner was amazing, started with the duck and rice cake entree which was a mouthwatering medley of flavours and textures. Had the caramelised pork hock and sour orange curry for mains, both were exemplary and delicious fusions of flavour. Shared a 'layered Longrain special' for dessert - slightly disappointed by this. It was a mix of several desserts together but they were all in the same glass meaning it was hard to get individual tastes of each. Still very tasty though. Will definitely be back, highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longrain also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Longrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing