We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

La Guillotine French Restaurant
Ranked #873 of 5,856 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Ok haven’t been to this restaurant in a very long time and it was definitely not how I remembered it, I remember great food not over priced good balanced menu, however I was in for a shock, food limited choices if you’re a vegetarian small portions and VERY VERY did I say VERY overpriced..once upon a time I would have recommended this place, now alas …can’t recommend it I’m sorry to say.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deejayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    52
    10
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
172 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Great Omelettes, Salad and Lamb”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I went with a group of friends as I've heard of the famous omelettes. Everything that we had was good, it's not cheap but it's not too outrageous either - dining in Sydney is generally expensive, especially in the city. Nice, friendly staff.
The only disappointment? They have Crepe Suzette on the menu and it hasn't been available the two times I've been there. Where's the Crepes?! They better be there next time...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank remarkable_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Utterly terrible food, unpleasant service, rip off”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Cannot say strongly enough to avoid this restaurant.

The food started out with very ordinary entrées - extremely overpriced for what they deliver - just ordinary bread with patte. Snails were tiny and over dressed.

Really went downhill with the mains. Steak was dry and of the quality you would expect at a pub. The fish was flavourless, dry and hard, overcooked to the point where parts of it were burnt black and we could smell the charcoal. It had to be sent back to the kitchen.

Side dishes like chips and salad were very ordinary - no effort put in at all.

Seriously, this is the kind food you would expect to find at an RSL club. It's a joke.

Wait staff were pretty unprofessional for what you'd expect at a restaurant like this. At least one of them could barely speak English and had to keep referring us to her colleague whenever a request was made.

Decor doesn't go together well and ambience feels like a cheap tourist restaurant.

Overall, a pretty bad restaurant and well overpriced.

If you want good French food and friendly service, go to "Le Pub" on the corner of York and King St instead.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyJamesK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good steaks”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

It was quite late on a Friday night of the long weekend but the lovely waiter still let our table of 4 come in and order a late dinner. Three of us had steaks - Chateaubriand and Torneado style, the fourth had a lobster and prawn cream crepe. All very satisfactory, side salads were a but ho-hum.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1602Bernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful find”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I stumbled over this restaurant while wandering one night on a trip to Sydney. We hadn't planned to eat at a restaurant, so weren't as dressed up as we would have liked. This was no concern for the lovely staff at the restaurant who treated us with the same wonderful attention and friendliness that they showed all the other patrons. The lighting was of that wonderful quality where you see your food but erase your wrinkles. We had a bread, my husband an entree, both of us had a main, and we shared a dessert plate and a bottle of French wine. Both of us had steak for our main and each was cooked superbly, mine medium rare and medium for my husband. My husband's entree of prawns was generous in size and I could smell the flavour as he confirmed how wonderful the taste was. Our shared dessert tasting plate was extremely generous, and my husband, who does not normally have a sweet tooth, ate the vast majority of the creme brulee. While it was pricey it was worth it, and I would highly recommend this restaurant to lovers of fine food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Guillotine French Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to La Guillotine French Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing