We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Christmas lunch with only one issue” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galileo Restaurant - CLOSED

Galileo Restaurant
Cuisines: Australian, French, Japanese, Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Balmain, Sydney
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Christmas lunch with only one issue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Galileo is now known as Globe Bar and Brasserie and the Observatory Hotel in which the restaurant is situated is now the Langham Hotel, Sydney. We booked for Christmas Day lunch as we enjoyed it very much here 3 years ago. Again the food was excellent; innovative and nicely presented. The entertainment of a cappela singers singing Christmas carols was charming. The only disappointment was the wine, both in choice and price. In the past there was an excellent wine list of not only Australian wines but excellent international wines as well. We were told there is now an intentional focus on Australian wines to address overseas clients' perceived preferences but this leaves locals a little short on options. While there was a large number of people at the Christmas lunch the vast majority appeared to be Australians. In my experience people who can afford to pay the prices for a Christmas lunch at this restaurant are more than likely to be well travelled and interested in world wines. The wine list was severely lacking in this regard. And the prices for the wine, in my opinion, were just seriously ridiculous. We would think twice about going back unless this aspect changes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Balmainiacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    27
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sydney NSW
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quiet, Sophisticated & Attentive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Significanctly for my wife and I, my wife has recently been diagnosed with Coeliac disease and has to avoid gluten containing foods.

We have had great difficulty in restaurants both in Australia and overseas.

Some months ago we were at the Langham Place Hotel in HK which coped well with the issue, so I thought I would try its sister hotel in Sydney for a wedding anniversary.

Thank God I did. The staff were friendly, good humoured and attentive as well as understanding the issue, without unduly drawing attention to it.

Many restaurants deal with gluten free with rice crackers and vegetables.

Not here.

The meal was excellent, the range available for my wife was excellent.

You could not see or tast any difference. Most importantly, there were no adverse after effects of the food.

I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grestymosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Absolutely devine..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

A beautiful dining room, relaxed atmosphere, amazing food & wine. You notice the attention to details and service is top notch.. What more could you want!?

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JackiMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The food and the exceptional service were second to none and the prices are in the medium range. The restaurant itself has that old world charm and feel to it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank wmoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

The menu is small but the food is beautifully prepared and presented in delightful surroundings. A special occasion venue.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank smiley8082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galileo Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing