We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Diethnes Greek Restaurant & Cocktail Bar
Ranked #52 of 5,900 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Been going here for 30 years and still great.
Good service, great food and good value - servings are more than sufficient

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JetA1too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    92
    24
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“All Greek to me”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I was a bit unsure about the plain exterior and the downstairs entrance to a windowless room. The service and food was unmistakably Greek though. We had the $37 banquet and is the best Greek food I have tasted since Greece. Its not cordon bleu. Its Greek food and its authentic.
Waiters were excellent, knew their product, wines are well matched, there is even Retsina if you like that, and the Lamb... and the Octopus...., and the Dolmades... yeh! Pretty full int he evening, I am told its quieter at lunch time. The waiters never stopped, and they never stopped smiling either. The overall ability to feed so many people so effectively would put many high class establishments to shame. Kali Orexi!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Eat all your lamb, and drink all your coffee!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My favourite Greek eatery in Sydney. Been coming here for decades. The lamb is great, the service friendly. John and his team look after you in a calm and supportive manner. My favourite dish is calamari with a greek salad to share, local fetta cheese. Coffee is great. Just finish everything or they chastise you! Take you family and your business collegaues.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Professor1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cheap...”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Came here on a Friday night with my partner (we're both Sydney locals but have recently moved to the area). To be honest, after all the great reviews of this place, I was really disappointed.

The decor was awful - underground / downstairs / dungeon setting with no natural light or ventilation. It had the feeling of a cheap chinese restaurant - plastic coated tables and chairs, dodgy carpet and tables. Not old school charm - but horribly dated.

However, I didn't come here for the decor and was expecting something a little run down by all the reviews. What i DID expect was great food. This, unfortunately, wasn't the case. If I had to describe it in a word - PLAIN. Some people might like it because the servings were huge - but if you're after huge servings why not just go to McDonalds. We both had roast lamb which we thought was a safe choice in a greek restaurant. But you can imagine our shock when our meals came out about 5 minutes after we ordered...in other words, they'd been sitting there, cooked, for god knows how long. Heat em up, slop em on a plate, and there's your dinner. The wine was also a bit nasty.

The only shining light was the service - friendly without being cheezy, attentive without being intrusive.

There were a lot of groups at this restaurant and I can see why it would suit such an occasion (cheep and cheery) but if you're after a nice meal, head somewhere else.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

From the small street front you go down stairs and it opens into this great space. Service is quick and freindly. Food is of great quality and quantity. The dessert were brilliant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gr0wingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diethnes Greek Restaurant & Cocktail Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Diethnes Greek Restaurant & Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing