We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service & Food many could learn from”
Review of China Doll

China Doll
Ranked #26 of 5,856 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: City East
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service & Food many could learn from”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our family have been to China Doll on numerous occasions and have always been impressed with the attention by the staff to service.
We have never been wanting and the food is some of the best modern Asian we have tasted throughout the world. We have also found the wine selection covers our requirements in taste and value.
The location is fabulous, especially on a summers evening by the boardwalk, and would always advise that a booking is made.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 795georged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    787
    328
    107
    31
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“As good as expected however too bad about the final fee grab...”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

As per usual China Doll was acceptable. Ok food, barely reasonable service, great outlook. My party of 5 indulged, enjoyed and rang up a tab that would make most restaurants happy.

Then without being informed we got nabbed for a $3.30 surcharge per person on our credit cards after leaving more than an acceptable tip.

The paltry amount of money wasn't the issue...what was is not being informed about what was nothing more than a rude, greedy, good-will destroying cash grab.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great spot and great food”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

China Doll is not just all about the location - which is amazing on the wharf overlooking the water, boats, passing parade, etc. The food is really good Asian Fusion. Us 3 lunching "gals" ordered 3 entrees, 3 mains and some rice and it was too much to finish. We were all really hungry but the servings are very generous. We could have done with just 2 entrees and 2 mains. The stand-out dishes for me were the dumplings and the pork belly - both melt in the mouth and fully of flavour. The staff were attentive but not overly so - which women appreciate when they are having a good catch-up. I will definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMKEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Had a brilliant meal at China Doll for my wife's birthday. Service was excellent and the food was at a level very few restaurants deliver. Well paced banquet offering that was ample for the 2 of us.
Loved the pork belly!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SRS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Top Spot”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Good food, service, quick delivery and friendly staff. It hit the spot for us.!
Great variety of dishes. All absolutely delicious.The evening we were there
they were short staffed, but the service was amazing. Loved the dumplings and
the wine list was very reasonable .When you ordered a glass, you got a glass !!
We loved it and would go back. .Fab location too. A not too miss Restaurant when you are in Sydney.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jilly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Doll also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to China Doll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing