We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aussie Chinese food at top end”
Review of China Doll

China Doll
Ranked #27 of 5,843 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City East
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Aussie Chinese food at top end”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Great location on Cowper bay wharf
Food is at top end of Chinese , could be referred to as fusion
The lamb in lettuce leaf was outstanding
An extensive wine list
A good experience

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Howard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    778
    326
    107
    31
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woolloomooloo
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“50th Birthday Party. ”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

What can be said from the Beginning is WOW!!!!
I had the pleasure of Attending a Surprise 50th Birthday with 40 Guests at China Doll. On the weekend.
The Food was exceptionally Good. The Service sensational.
There was never an empty Glass.
Everyone was Fed at the same time, which is no mean feat. Considering there were 8 Tables.
The Cowper Wharf at Wooloomooloo is such a lovely part of Sydney.
Can't say much more, than if you plan on going to China Doll.
You won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton NSW
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had a voucher to use so decided to try China Doll, needless to say we weren't disappointed. We ordered the wontons, duck pancakes, Penang beef shin and the broccolini. Everything was absolutely delicious, probably a little too much just for the 2 of us. Our waiter was lovely and when he noticed we had waited a little longer for our other dishes, he gave us a free dessert platter which had sorbet, black sticky rice and sago pudding, very yum. We were also given a nice after dinner mini cocktail to finish our meal. Very reasonably priced for the quality, we will definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ksweed04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delicious food, lovely view, great service”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I have been here twice, once for a business lunch and another for date night. Both times the food was excellent! Great service. The dumplings and sashimi dishes were the best I have ever had. The duck was a stand out - my partner thought he didn't like duck but the way China Doll cooked it changed his mind! Would recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JodyTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
2 reviews
“Best modern Asian in Sydney”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Superb..always an amazing experience.Everything from the view ,service and wonderful food is where we like to go for special occasions.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sudafed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Doll also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to China Doll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing