We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Food - But Service needs attention” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Doll

China Doll
Ranked #19 of 5,443 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $61
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City East
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great Food - But Service needs attention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We love this restaurant and spend many a special occasion here.The food is outstanding and there is nothing on the menu that is not wonderful - I now need to explain my most recent visit and hope that there is some attention paid from management.
We made a 12pm booking and it was a glorious day in Sydney,arriving at 12.03pm we waited for 2 minutes at the front entrance whilst 4-5 staff gathered around a PC - not quite sure what was happening but it was a sign of things to come.Once seated we were really happy with our Wait staff and the food as always was sensational.Although we were the first seated in the restaurant we were seated right next to the entrance - the big problem being that as the restaurant became busier the line of people pushed up and we had people peering over our table - as the staff were MIA ! When your paying big dollars for a special meal you really don't want or need groups of people leaning over your shoulder checking out what you're eating.The Manager on Duty this day should have a rethink and work out what the priorities are in the restaurant game.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roosterman2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    278
    84
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good night out with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

the food was sharing style, good when you are with close friends. the flavours were fresh, light and amazing.
we had a little problem with a piece of plastic in the food but the waiter fix the problem with ease. you deducted the dish which had the plastic in it and gave the whole table a dessert platter and a cocktail each . they're service is great and we will be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nataly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Asian in Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Have been to china doll on many occasions the location is great especially for lunch as the view is great. The food is excellent on all levels and I would compare the food with PF Changs in Hawaii. Selecting one of the banquets is the best way to go if there are 4 or more people as this way you get to try a variety of the great dishes on offer. This would have to be one of the only restaurants in Sydney that I have come across that will adjust dishes to meet any allergies that people may have for that individual and they only change the dish for that effects the person with the allergy. The service is very good and nothing is a problem. If you like Asian food this should be on your list to try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We chose China Doll after checking out all the restaurants on the wharf. Having just had a huge walk and recovering from a big night, a good meal was in order. We had the banquet for 2. Which was all fantastic. Also saved us having to choose. It was great food just kept coming and complimented with a bottle of sav blanc. Staff are all very attentive and friendly. Would definitely go again when in Sydney.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank waahwaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“dinner with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The evening was still and mild, perfect for outdoor dining at China Doll on the Wharf at Woolloomooloo, and for catching up with friends. . We were lucky with our very attentive and caring waiter. The lamb straps dish was delicious for me who does not like fish, my partner loved his sea food curry. We didn't need sweets but the wine was not exactly as ordered, althoug it improved on opening and sitting for a while, but the waiter brought us a selection of sweets hoping to make up for the disappointment with the wine. An excellent bit of PR as we will be back!.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Doll also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to China Doll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing