We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Brilliant Birthday Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of China Doll

China Doll
Ranked #19 of 5,393 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $61
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City East
Wongan Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant Birthday Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We celebrated my best friends birthday here with her family who had flown in from overseas. Staff asked where we preferred to sit (inside or outside being a warm summers evening), food was to die for, service was excellent. Menu was a little confusing until it had been explained to us that it was set out for sharing, but once this confusion was out of the way the orders roiled in as we sat and ate and rank the night away at this very special restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lynchoutwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    647
    274
    83
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

It's modern Asian cuisine, mixture of chinese food and those from south east asia. The restaurant was packed on the night I was there for dinner. It was early week not weekend! Advanced reservation is advisable. I had prawn dumpling with green bean and red vinegar, steamed scallops with ginger for starters. The marinade fr the scallops though strong and spicy did not overwhelm their freshness. For mains I had organic wok fried beef fillet with capsicum and cumin eaten with jasmine rice. It was fabulously spicy but not too spicy. The beef was tender and juicy. It's simply delicious! Though the wait staff were polite and knowledgeable of the food, it was hard to get their attention especially on busy night. Worth repeat visits.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank brontay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sydney gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I must say I am not a fan of Sydney in general, however, our most recent visit included our first dining experience at China Doll. In short, it was fabulous and we will return on our next visit for another China Doll experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DubboNSWAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tried to go July 15 2013 and it was closed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Looked like they might just be remodeling but I would call first. Based on reviews we were keen to try it. Lovely area. Have it 5 stars as did not feel it fair to pull down its rankings but did want people aware to call.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ModernNomad001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
150 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“beautiful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Ate here with 15 business colleagues, had the banquet. Beautiful food, probably not enough though in my opinion, but beautiful nonetheless. First few dishes, there simply wasnt even enough for everyone to try the dish! Chilli calamari and Tea smoked duck were the highlight. Service very good, would recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Watto77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Doll also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to China Doll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing