We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not vegetarian friendly”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of China Doll

China Doll
Ranked #24 of 5,839 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City East
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not vegetarian friendly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We wanted to go to China Doll for my son's 21st, with a group of 11 vegetarians. Do you think they could be bothered? No. They said it was too much trouble. Not impressed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank nowshiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    766
    321
    106
    31
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Food. Great Location.. but the tables are close together...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We chose this restaurant based on the good reviews here on Trip Advisor. Fortunately we got a nice sunny day and we were able to sit outside at a front table.
Unfortunately there was a table of four men sitting next to us (and tables are very close together) who were very loud and obnoxious. This did taint our experience somewhat
The food was Excellent. We had the pancakes and the wok fried beef fillet – both perfectly cooked and very tasty. Wine was pricey but a good selection. The view was Great as was the service.
If the people at the table beside us were not as noisy as they were the rating would be better – and we would have stayed longer (and had dessert and more wine...) but having such a close table of inconsiderate diners unfortunately did spoil this occasion.
However because the food and location were so good we are keen to give it another try when back in Sydney

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annieandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“It has it all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Location, great staff, really tasty food and good wine selection. We were there to celebrate my daughters 21st Birthday and every thing except the weather was outstanding. Thanks to every one who made the day special for her! We will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch on a sunny weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Situated on the Woolloomooloo finger wharf along with other restaurants, China Doll delivers excellent pan-Asian food. Go for one of the banquets (they allow substitutions). Wine list is good and service excellent. They have heaters if you want to sit outside in winter.
A very popular restaurant, especially on fine weekends. Need to book. About $250 for two with wine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“All dishes were tasty and consistently good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went there for lunch on Friday 24/5/13 with a couple of friends. The restaurant was full, so keep that in mind and definately book. All the food served was tasty and the service was great. All this and the restaurant was full to capacity. I was very impressed. Given the surrounding restaurants had limited patrons, it tells the story. A restaurant worth visiting whilst in Sydney.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Doll also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to China Doll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing