We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Not vegetarian friendly” 1 of 5 stars
Review of China Doll

China Doll
Ranked #18 of 5,454 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $61
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City East
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not vegetarian friendly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We wanted to go to China Doll for my son's 21st, with a group of 11 vegetarians. Do you think they could be bothered? No. They said it was too much trouble. Not impressed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank nowshiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    278
    84
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Food. Great Location.. but the tables are close together...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We chose this restaurant based on the good reviews here on Trip Advisor. Fortunately we got a nice sunny day and we were able to sit outside at a front table.
Unfortunately there was a table of four men sitting next to us (and tables are very close together) who were very loud and obnoxious. This did taint our experience somewhat
The food was Excellent. We had the pancakes and the wok fried beef fillet – both perfectly cooked and very tasty. Wine was pricey but a good selection. The view was Great as was the service.
If the people at the table beside us were not as noisy as they were the rating would be better – and we would have stayed longer (and had dessert and more wine...) but having such a close table of inconsiderate diners unfortunately did spoil this occasion.
However because the food and location were so good we are keen to give it another try when back in Sydney

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annieandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“It has it all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Location, great staff, really tasty food and good wine selection. We were there to celebrate my daughters 21st Birthday and every thing except the weather was outstanding. Thanks to every one who made the day special for her! We will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch on a sunny weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Situated on the Woolloomooloo finger wharf along with other restaurants, China Doll delivers excellent pan-Asian food. Go for one of the banquets (they allow substitutions). Wine list is good and service excellent. They have heaters if you want to sit outside in winter.
A very popular restaurant, especially on fine weekends. Need to book. About $250 for two with wine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“All dishes were tasty and consistently good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went there for lunch on Friday 24/5/13 with a couple of friends. The restaurant was full, so keep that in mind and definately book. All the food served was tasty and the service was great. All this and the restaurant was full to capacity. I was very impressed. Given the surrounding restaurants had limited patrons, it tells the story. A restaurant worth visiting whilst in Sydney.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Doll also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to China Doll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing