We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“It has it all” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of China Doll

China Doll
Ranked #18 of 5,627 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $59
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City East
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“It has it all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Location, great staff, really tasty food and good wine selection. We were there to celebrate my daughters 21st Birthday and every thing except the weather was outstanding. Thanks to every one who made the day special for her! We will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    290
    90
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch on a sunny weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Situated on the Woolloomooloo finger wharf along with other restaurants, China Doll delivers excellent pan-Asian food. Go for one of the banquets (they allow substitutions). Wine list is good and service excellent. They have heaters if you want to sit outside in winter.
A very popular restaurant, especially on fine weekends. Need to book. About $250 for two with wine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“All dishes were tasty and consistently good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went there for lunch on Friday 24/5/13 with a couple of friends. The restaurant was full, so keep that in mind and definately book. All the food served was tasty and the service was great. All this and the restaurant was full to capacity. I was very impressed. Given the surrounding restaurants had limited patrons, it tells the story. A restaurant worth visiting whilst in Sydney.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great views, great food, great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We visited China doll on mothers day, it is in a great location with lovely views over the wharf. We ordered from the banquet menu, each course was beautifull and the price was very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A fabulous taste of the Orient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

What a great setting!!! A beautiful night on the wharf, great banquet selection, even if a few of our party commented they thought the Salt & Pepper squid was a tad too hot and spicy, suited me, so I devoured it gladly, washed down by a long neck TsingTao beer, heaven. The Gov. General was seated behind us, so if she likes it , must be okay!
do it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kentos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Doll also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to China Doll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing