We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXPENSIVE FIRST RATE CHINESE RESTAURANT” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of China Doll

China Doll
Ranked #18 of 5,822 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $61
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City East
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“EXPENSIVE FIRST RATE CHINESE RESTAURANT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Took our Australian hosts for a farewell evening meal at China Doll and we were not disappointed with the quality. It is rather expensive, but then the food is gourmet. We all enjoyed several dishes to share, and were helped by the waiter who made several helpful suggestions. It was an extremely hot evening and we could have benefited from sitting inside rather than outside. However, that would have meant losing out on a lovely view.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anthonyc34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    750
    315
    100
    30
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My favourite is the steamed fish, but the whole menu is good and it is a very nice place to spend an afternoon overlooking the water.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank OnlythebestTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in Sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Food was amazing, cocktails were to die for, service outstanding our waiter was so nice and gave us a complimentary tasting desert and drink for no reason but just as a kind gesture.
I've told all my friends about this superb restaurant and I can't wait for our next visit to Sydney as this will be our first stop!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tictac73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Our first meal in Australia, and a delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

It was a beautiful day on the wharf, and of all the restaurants, we chose to eat our first meal at China Doll. The waitress was delightful, and very helpful as we chose several dishes to share. Everything was so fresh and absolutely delicious. The drink menu was very unique, and I particularly enjoyed the ginger mojito before the meal. I would go back to China Doll in a New York minute!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shannonup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food Awful service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Such a shame. We had friends here from the UK and wanted them to enjoy a meal on Cowper wharf, we chose china doll on a friday night, having been here once before on a Sunday afternoon and ad a lovely time. The food was lovely although not quite as god as last time. The service was appalling! Slow slow slow and not at all friendly and at 11pm, when they don't close until 12 midnight every table around us was packed up leaving s sitting outside feeling a little like we should hurry up! I don't thinking I will be returning awful experience for a large sum of money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank taureanfoodie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Doll also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to China Doll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing