We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's happened to China Doll?”
Review of China Doll

China Doll
Ranked #30 of 5,944 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $63
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: City East
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What's happened to China Doll?”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

China Doll used to be a garanteed great night out. My husband and I went for dinner the other night. The place was busy as usual, and although the service was prompt that extra personality from the staff was missing. The food was good, but nothing special. It usually explodes with flavour! We left disappointed that one of our favorite places has become average.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ANS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    802
    334
    109
    34
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and venue!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had dinner here on a Friday night for my partner's birthday and it was wonderful. The staff were very friendly, professional and warm and the service was attentive and efficient. Although the restaurant was busy, we were well looked after and our food and drinks came out very quickly. The quality of the food and cocktails was excellent. We had a few half-size dishes for entree, including Sechzuan salt & pepper kind prawns, wihch were the stand out. For mains we had tea-smoked duck and pork belly and both were amazing. It was all for great value too, as our bill was $200 for cocktails, wine, entrees and mains, much less than we expected given the quality. The serves were generous too. The atmosphere was great, very busy but we were still able to talk and didn't feel crowded out. There was a mix of couples and groups having dinner and everyone seemed to be having a great time!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pmblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience and a really nice atmosphere”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The food was great, a little pricey but I wasn't paying. Even if I was, it was well worth the price. The views and atmosphere alone are worth it!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A lovely evening”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The food was lovely & varied, a great wine selection & a great setting. We sat outside & even though it was a cool evening the gas heaters kept our group warm

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Penelope P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A really enjoyable meal in a lovely location”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had our first meal at China Doll a couple of weeks ago and it was great. After reading some positive reviews, we thought this would be just the place to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We're not from Sydney and haven't had much experience with the local restaurant scene, but we loved everything about China Doll. The service was very attentive, our waiter took the time to explain menu items for us, the location was lovely, the food was very tasty, and finishing off with a trio of desserts was the perfect end to a perfect evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Makettle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Doll also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to China Doll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing