We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic, delicious Chinese food”

Celestial Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #3,288 of 5,841 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Authentic, delicious Chinese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Accidentally found this gem while looking for another restaurant in the area. Surprised by the interior decorating including koi pond. Very quiet and peaceful. Staff was efficient and professional. Food was delicious, especially duck mushroom soup. Very authentic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jiajiabinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Good traditional Chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Went here on the recommendation of the Sofitel receptionist. The entrance is really plain and the decor just like a typical traditional Chinese restaurant. The food is in a similar vein, not expensive and good straitforward dishes. The service was absolutely fine and we all enjoyed the meal. Far superior to the Chinese restaurant on the Quay.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chesterdoggerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and Fantastic Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and i went to Celestial Chinese for lunch after looking for a good chinese restaurant. Being our first trip to Sydney we were not familar with the area nor good places to eat. After looking up places to eat we decided to try Celestial. What a hidden gem, tucked away down what looks like a basement turned out to be a beautiful chinese garden and packed with plenty of business men.
We were quickly greeter by friendly waiters who attended to our every need. The menu was extensive and was a tough decission on what to order. Our food was spot on very high quality and would definately return next time we visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A hidden gem. Worth the visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I work about 100 metres from this place for the last 4 years and didn't even know it existed. I just went with a friend for a lunch as he has been before and I was very glad we went.
Inside is spacious and you traverse a small bridge at the entrance across of pool filled with fish. Already the atmosphere is inviting.
We were met be a smiling member of staff who quickly seated us, took our drinks order, and disappeared while we perused our menus. Within minutes they had returned and we ordered.
If you have a group of 4 or more you can order a banquet, but as there were only 2 of us we ordered from the a-la-cart menu. We shared a plate of mixed veggies, beef in black bean sauce and pork knuckle in bbq sauce with a large container of rice to go with the dishes. Overall, I found the food, the portions, and also the taste very appealing.
It was pretty good price for the total too. I would certainly go again, and if you find yourself in the city looking for a nice Chinese restaurant that has some charm and has a friendly atmosphere, I would certainly recommend going to see what you think.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OzzieMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great old style Chinese Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

A Friday night late December dinner always fills me with a degree of trepidation. I need not have worried. The Celestial is in the business end of town and more highly regarded for lunch than dinner. It has an interesting and pleasant decor with a pond full of carp and some nice secluded areas. Present were a number of Chinese travel groups and several large groups of office workers celebrating Christmas. Not a good mix you might think for two diners looking for a relaxed and quiet evening.
Not a problem. We were shown to a nice table beside the pond a good distance from the other groups. Service was attentive and prompt and the food excellent. The shredded beef Beijing style was tender and satisfying albeit that it could have been a bit crisper. The scallops stuffed with crab meat were excellent and the wine list extensive. We had a fine Morgan blend from Broke in the Hunter and left very satisfied. We liked the ambience which gave a feeling of a long established and competent Chinese restaurant of a slightly old fashioned style and were not surprised to discover that it was 30 years old. long may it continue.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celestial Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Celestial Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing