We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food & atmosphere!”
Review of Casa Asturiana

Casa Asturiana
Reserve with
Casa Asturiana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #599 of 5,833 Restaurants in Sydney
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food & atmosphere!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Went for dinner on a Saturday night and were not disappointed. Ordered a selection off the Tapas menu - meatballs, calamari, chicken wings and parmesan scallops - all great! Topped off with a couple of glasses of red wine and flan for dessert. Delicious!
Atmosphere was quaint and 'homey' and the service was excellent - very fast and friendly.
We will be going back on our next trip to Sydney.
Oh... They have flamenco dancers perform on the weekend too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelNicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    71
    36
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, reasonable value, great service”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is a quaint little spanish place with a nice feel to it. The food was ok but not amazing (we had a shared hot tapas plate). The spanish beer I had was excellent. Nice wine list. Churros for dessert was great, as was the creme caramel my wife ordered. Service was excellent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty old world charm”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Great traditional tasty food with a variety and great service. Would love to eat again. Onle 20 metres from our apartment, wow eat drink sleep howz that.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank James007MEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnedah, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This place promises so much on the outside but does not deliver!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We were staying nearby and wanted to try one of the many Spanish restaurants on Liverpool st. We chose the one that looked most authentic and when we went in it looked the part and was satisfyingly busy. The manager/maitre d was very friendly and showed us to a table and fetched a (bit tired looking but serviceable) high chair for my son. That is where the praise must end.... I ordered crochetas di pollo which is my fave Spanish dish. The quality this was dreadful. We soldiered on and both ordered a chicken dish. These were both dripping in butter, mine was edible, my partner's was not. It was bland and poorly cooked. To their credit we sent the dish back and it was removed from the bill. I could have made all three dishes better at home- very disappointing. Our waitress was also quite rude- not deliberately- as her English was very poor. I suspect this restaurant serves paella and seafood more than chicken dishes and I hope that they do those better- clearly the other patrons were satisfied.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megpowis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Great Service”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We were visiting Sydney from interstate and remembered that we had been to this restaurant on a previous visit so we went again for dinner. Wow! So glad we did. The food was excellent. I had the beans with pork and sausage and my partner had the mussels and scallops - both were excellent. Although we were fairly full we also had desserts which were yummy. You couldn't fault the service and we were offered a complimentary liquer when we told them we were from interstate and had been before. Can recommend highly.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Idaellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Asturiana also viewed

 

Been to Casa Asturiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing